EIT Health Germany
Accelerator

Accelerator – Programs for startups, scaleups and SMEs

The EIT Health ‘Accelerator’ is targeted at all startups, spin-offs, scaleups and SMEs involved in health in Europe. The stated goal is to bring together the best young entrepreneurs in the healthcare industry and to provide them with the support, skills and services they need to bring their ideas to market. To accompany these young companies at every stage of their growth, the EIT Health Accelerator offers programs in three phases:

Incubate! Young entrepreneurs in this phase receive training and support to create a business plan from a first business idea. These programs run for two to twelve months, offering entrepreneurs an international perspective and the opportunity to build their network with leading healthcare organizations.

VALIDATE! Programs in this phase will help startups continuously improve their business models by providing access to living labs and testbeds, mentoring and coaching expertise within the community, and developing an understanding of regional reimbursement systems.

SCALE! In this phase, the programs offered focus on the development of tools and networks that will enable the financing of projects and smaller SMEs. The goal is to build bridges to potential investors such as investors, business angels and crowd funding.

 

Learn more

All projects and programs taking place as part of the annual EIT Health
Business Plan can be found in the current EIT Health Accelerator Catalog.

EIT Health Headstart Funding

The Headstart Funding Program aims at early stage start-ups, spin-offs and SMEs that require initial funding for their further development and commercialization. As part of its annual activities in the accelerator sector, EIT Health awards up to 50,000 € to selected young companies twice a year (SHIP event) as part of a multi-stage application process.

Learn more

EIT Health Catapult

The EIT Health Catapult is a training and competition program that promotes the development of world-class European innovation in health through exposure to leading experts and international investors. Every year we are looking for the best 42 business ideas from the fields of medtech, biotech and digital health within the DACH region.

Learn more

Startups Meet Pharma

The EIT Health Program ‘Startups Meet Pharma’ unites teams from MSc, Dr. and post-doctoral students with major pharmaceutical companies in Europe. The program invites startups to develop digital solutions that pertain to both the pharmaceutical industry and patients to jointly address the challenges they face with operational products and services. In 2019, a total of five challenges were published in collaboration with Amgen, Bayer, Ferrer, Johnson & Johnson and UCB Biosciences. Due to the great success in 2019, the program will continue in 2020.

Learn more

Investors Roundtable

Every year EIT Health Germany organizes an investor roundtable in Mannheim or Heidelberg. The aim of the event is to bring together a top selection of EIT Health Germany startups from Baden Wuerttemberg and Bavaria with selected VCs & Business Angels from the DACH region to identify synergies that ideally facilitate next startup investment rounds. The startups are mainly active in the areas of medtech and digital health products. Services active.

 

Mentoring & Coaching Network (MCN)

The expertise of the EIT Health network can also be accessed independently of running programs. The Mentoring & Coaching Network (MCN) brings together experts and mentors from the EIT Health network across Europe to help answer the specific questions and challenges of startups in the areas of medtech, biotech and digital health.

Learn more

FAQs for startups

The EIT Health Accelerator programs have interesting offers for every healthcare startup in every level. Here you will find answers to the most important questions about your cooperation with EIT Health Germany.

Where can I find an overview of all EIT Health programmes for startups?

All EIT Health programs for startups are listed in the EIT Health Accelerator catalog and can be accessed on this website at https://www.eithealth.eu/accelerator.

Which programme of the EIT Accelerator portfolio is most suitable for my startup?

The programs of the EIT Health Accelerator portfolio are divided into 3 main activity lines: INCUBATE, for startups in the early phase and also for not yet registered startups; VALIDATE for start-ups in the growth phase; SCALE for already on the market and scalable startups. These are just general notes and may vary from case to case. In any case, talk to Mathis and Barbara.

Do I have to be part of the EIT Health Network to participate in an EIT Health Accelerator Portfolio programme?

No. The Accelerator is open to applications from all entrepreneurs, start-ups, scale-ups and SMEs in Europe.

Can I apply for multiple EIT Health Accelerator programs?

Yes, but you should note the following:

1. Startups that apply for the EIT Health European Health Catapult can not qualify for the EIT Headstart Funding Program in the same year.

2. Startups who have applied for the first round of the Headstart Funding Program can not apply for the second round.

3. EIT Health may grant a maximum of € 50,000 in grants per startup and year.

This maximum amount relates to grants awarded under the Headstart Program or other funds distributed within EIT Health, as well as reimbursements for travel and accommodation when invited to participate in an EIT Health event. This maximum amount does not include the economic value of an activity.

Which EIT Health Co-Location Center (CLC) in Europe should I apply for?

If you are registered as a company in Germany, Switzerland or Austria (DACH region), you should contact us, the German EIT Health CLC.

How can I get the supporting letter for the EIT Headstart Funding Program?

The letter of recommendation/letter of support must be signed by one of our business partners (ideally a German one, but we are not strict about it). Please look at EIT Health business partners at the following webpage https://eithealth.eu/our-network/our-partners/   

Do not forget to filter, on the left side, for the BUSINESS PARTNERS.

Please identify one partner that you think might be interested in your technology. This partner could be instrumental for the growth of your company or could be one of your future customers. Once you have identified the partner, please contact them introducing your company and your technology, elaborating the reason why this should be of interest to them and explaining that you need a letter of support/recommendation in order to apply to the EIT Headstart Funding Program. You could use the master contact of the company that you find on the website or any other contact in the company you might have.

 If you want you can use our template letter   http://bit.ly/HS2019letter  but keep in mind that represents just a suggestion and it can be modified according to your needs or to the needs of the company. There is absolutely no liability that arises from issuing such a letter of support from the company side. The letter represents a way for startups to increase their visibility creating meaningful relationships and expanding their network.

In case you have further questions regarding the letter do not hesitate to contact Barbara (Barbara.costa@eithealth.eu).

Do you have more questions on our Accelerator Programmes? Just get in touch!

Dr. Barbara Costa

Business Creation Manager
+49 621 764 461-15

Mathis Palm

Accelerator Project Assistant
+49 621 764 461-13

EIT Health Germany
Accelerator

Accelerator – Programme für junge Unternehmen

Der EIT Health ‚Accelerator‘ richtet sich an alle Startups, Spin-offs, Scaleups und KMUs, die im Bereich Gesundheit in Europa aktiv sind. Erklärtes Ziel ist es, die besten jungen Unternehmer der Gesundheitsbranche zusammenzubringen und ihnen die Unterstützung, Fähigkeiten und Dienstleistungen zur Verfügung zu stellen, die sie benötigen, um ihre Ideen auf den Markt zu bringen.

Um diese jungen Unternehmen in jeder Phase ihres Wachstums zu begleiten, bietet der EIT Health Accelerator Programme in drei Phasen an:

INCUBATE! Junge Unternehmer in dieser Phase erhalten Schulungen und Unterstützung, um aus einer ersten Geschäftsidee einen Businessplan zu erstellen. Diese Programme haben eine Dauer von zwei bis zwölf Monaten und bieten Unternehmern eine internationale Perspektive und die Möglichkeit, ihr Netzwerk mit führenden Gesundheitsorganisationen aufzubauen.

VALIDATE! In Programmen dieser Phase werden Startups dabei unterstützt, ihre Geschäftsmodelle durch den Zugang zu Living Labs und Testbeds, Mentoring und Coaching-Know-how innerhalb der Community kontinuierlich zu verbessern und ein Verständnis für regionale Erstattungssysteme zu entwickeln.

SCALE! In dieser Phase konzentrieren sich die angebotenen Programme auf die Entwicklung von Tools und Netzwerken, die die Finanzierung von Projekten und kleineren KMUs ermöglichen. Hier sollen Brücken zu potenziellen Investoren wie Investoren, Business Angels und Crowd-Fonds geschlagen werden.

 

Mehr erfahren

Alle im Zuge des jährlichen EIT Health Business Plans stattfindenden Projekte und Programme sind  im aktuellen EIT Health Accelerator Katalog  zu finden.

Die wichtigsten EIT Health Germany Accelerator Programme auf einen Blick

EIT Health Headstart Funding

Das Headstart Funding Programm richtet sich an „early stage“ Startups, Spin-Offs und KMUs, die eine initiale finanzielle Förderung für ihre weitere Entwicklung und Kommerzialisierung benötigen. Als Teil der jährlichen Aktivitäten im Bereich „Accelerator“ vergibt EIT Health Germany zweimal pro Jahr (u.a. beim SHIP-Event) im Rahmen eines mehrstufigen Bewerbungsprozesses bis zu 50.000 an ausgewählte junge Unternehmen.

Mehr erfahren

EIT Health Catapult

Der EIT Health Catapult ist ein Trainings- und Wettbewerbsprogramm, das die Entwicklung erstklassiger europäischer Innovationen im Bereich Gesundheit durch den Kontakt zu führenden Experten und internationalen Investoren fördert. Gesucht werden jährlich die besten 42 Geschäftsideen aus den Bereichen MedTech, BioTech und Digital Health in ganz Europa.

Mehr erfahren

Startups Meet Pharma

Das EIT Health Programm ‚Startups Meet Pharma‘ verbindet Teams von MSc-, Dr. und Post-Doc-Studenten mit wichtigen Pharma Unternehmen in Europa. Das Programm lädt Startups ein, digitale Lösungen zu entwickeln, die sowohl die Pharmaindustrie als auch die Patienten betreffen, um gemeinsam die gestellten Herausforderungen in einsatzfähige Produkte und Dienstleistungen umzusetzen. Im Jahr 2019 wurden in Zusammenarbeit mit Amgen, Bayer, Ferrer, Johnson & Johnson und UCB Biosciences insgesamt fünf Challenges veröffentlicht. Aufgrund des großen Erfolgs 2019 wird das Programm auch zukünftig weitergeführt.

Mehr erfahren

Investors Roundtable

EIT Health Germany organisiert jedes Jahr einen Investor-Roundtable in Mannheim oder Heidelberg. Ziel der Veranstaltung ist es, eine Top-Auswahl von EIT Health Germany Startups aus Baden Württemberg und Bayern mit ausgewählten VCs & Business Angels aus der D.A.CH Region zusammenzubringen, um Synergien zu identifizieren, die idealerweise die nächsten Investitionsrunden der Startups erleichtern. Die hierzu eingeladenen Startups sind vorwiegend in den Bereichen MedTech- und Digital Health-Produkte oder Dienstleistungen tätig.

 

Mentoring & Coaching Network (MCN)

Die Expertise des EIT Health-Netzwerks kann auch unabhängig von laufende Programmen und Projekten abgerufen werden. Das Mentoring & Coaching Network (MCN) versammelt Fachexperten und Mentoren des EIT Health-Netzwerkes aus ganz Europa, um bei den spezifischen Frage- und Aufgabenstellungen von Startups in den Bereichen Medtech, Biotech und digitale Gesundheit zu helfen und zu beraten.

Mehr erfahren

FAQs für Startups

Die EIT Health Startup-Programme haben für jedes Healthcare Startup in jeder Stufe interessante Angebote. Hier findet Ihr Antworten auf die wichtigsten Fragen rund um Eure Zusammenarbeit mit EIT Health Germany.

Wo finde ich einen Überblick über alle EIT Health Programme für Startups?

Alle EIT Health Programme für Start-ups sind im Accelerator Katalog von EIT Health enthalten und können auf dieser Website unter https://www.eithealth.eu/accelerator abgerufen werden.

Welches Programm des EIT Accelerator Portfolios ist für mein Startup am besten geeignet?

Die Programme des EIT Health Accelerator Portfolios sind in 3 Hauptaktivitätslinien gegliedert: INCUBATE, für Startups in der Frühphase und auch für noch nicht registrierte Startups; VALIDATE für Start-ups in der Wachstumsphase; SCALE für bereits auf dem Markt befindliche und skalierbare Startups. Dies sind nur allgemeine Hinweise und können von Fall zu Fall variieren. In jedem Fall sprecht Mathis und Barbara an.

Muss ich Teil des EIT Health-Netzwerks sein, um mich für ein Programm des EIT Health Accelerator Portfolios zu bewerben?

Nein. Der Accelerator ist offen für Bewerbungen von allen Unternehmern, Start-ups, Scale-ups und KMUs in Europa.

Kann ich mich für mehrere EIT Health Accelerator Programme bewerben?

Ja, aber Ihr solltet folgendes beachten:

1. Start-ups, die sich für das EIT Health European Health Catapult bewerben, können sich im selben Jahr nicht für das EIT Headstart Funding Programme qualifizieren.

2. Start-ups, die sich für die erste Runde des Headstart Funding Programms beworben haben, können sich nicht für den zweite Runde bewerben.

3. EIT Health kann pro Start-up und Jahr maximal 50.000 Euro an Zuschüssen vergeben. Dieser Höchstbetrag bezieht sich auf Zuschüsse, die im Rahmen des Headstart Programmes oder anderer innerhalb des EIT Health verteilten Mitteln gewährt werden, sowie auf Erstattungen für Reisen und Unterkunft, wenn sie zur Teilnahme an einer EIT Health-Veranstaltung eingeladen werden. Dieser Höchstbetrag beinhaltet nicht den wirtschaftlichen Wert einer Aktivität.

Bei welchem EIT Health Co-Location Center (CLC) in Europa soll ich mich bewerben?

Wenn Ihr als Unternehmen in Deutschland, der Schweiz oder Österreich (DACH-Region) registriert seid, solltet Ihr Euch an uns, das deutsche EIT Health CLC wenden.

Noch Fragen zu unseren Programmen? Wir helfen euch weiter!

Dr. Barbara Costa

Business Creation Manager
+49 621 764 461-15

Mathis Palm

Accelerator Project Assistant
+49 621 764 461-13