Startups Meet Pharma 2021

Startups Meet Pharma 2021

Startups Meet Pharma brings together in one frame (i) big pharma companies posing specific problems in their area of interest and (ii) start-ups developing innovative technologies and services representing potential solutions for the selected challenges.

In 2021 we have partnered with five pharma companies, Takeda, Merck, Amgen, AstraZeneca, and Abbott, and we now invite start-ups to jointly address the challenges they face with operational products and services.

If you are developing innovative technologies and services representing potential solutions for the selected challenges for 2021, submit your application now!

Programme structure

  • Module 1 (17-21/05/2021, Online/Heidelberg): 5 days “Entrepreneurship training”. Startups will receive tailored workshops on different tools and methods to successfully build their business.
  • Module 2 (07-11/06/2021, Online/Heidelberg): 5 days workshops by pharma partners involved in the programme on how to collaborate with big players in the market.
  • Module 3 (2-23/07/2021, Online/pharma companies´premises): Startups will visit selected pharma companies involved in the programme to discuss collaboration opportunities.
  • Module 4 (November 2021): Demo Day. Startups pitch in front of pharma company representatives, investors, EIT Health partners, stakeholders.

 

What will you get?

  • You will collaborate with top experts in your field and obtain development support from a major pharmaceutical company.
  • You will receive a tailored training programme designed to help your start-up achieve success.
  • You will gain one-on-one access to your pharma sponsors, allowing you to develop relationships with key stakeholders and industry leaders.
YouTube

By loading the video, you agree to YouTube’s privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Challenge #1

Healthcare personnel perceive diagnosing adult ADHD as a complex and time-consuming task. Digital solutions can offer help for clinical decision making, support for diagnosis, personalised treatment, and treatment response monitoring. Solutions for this challenge may include but are not limited to: gamification, AR/VR, ML/AI, wearables, sensors, IoT, etc.

Selected start-ups Takeda-Challenge

Die Lösung von Braingaze, die BGaze Clinic, ist ein einzigartiges patentiertes, wissenschaftlich erprobtes und klinisch validiertes Entscheidungsunterstützungssystem auf Basis von Biomarkern für die frühzeitige und objektive Diagnose von ADHS bei Erwachsenen und Kindern. Das Unternehmen entwickelt außerdem die BGaze-Therapie, einen einzigartigen Ansatz für die digitale Behandlung mit gamifizierten interaktiven Eye-Tracking-Spielen, um die Aufmerksamkeitsprobleme der Patienten zu verbessern.

Braingaze

Based on strong clinical evidence, PeakProfiling is introducing voice-based diagnostics for ADHD in adults. The solution can solve the major shortcomings in today’s ADHD diagnostics: providing an accurate diagnosis for everyone, speeding up the diagnostic process to 1 Minute, allowing for personalized treatment and enabling thorough treatment response monitoring.

PeakProfiling

Iluria develops clinically validated monitoring software, providing support to caregivers and families for ADHD management & treatment decisions support. Their solution will enhance the existing ‘trial and error’ based treatment monitoring currently administered to ADHD patients by offering a comprehensive software solution that provides continuous and passive monitoring (utilizing any smart wearable), using physiological data already clinically associated with ADHD and machine learning analysis.

Iluria Ltd

Peili Vision has created a platform that combines three practices: VR technology, data and gamification. For the challenge, they are offering a VR solution that offers various measurement methods and data points that are the most precise way to measure a patient’s activities in a real-life simulative environment and those novel measurement methods can be used as a part of the ADHD diagnosis.

Peili Vision

Challenge #2

Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) is under-diagnosed and under-recognised by healthcare providers. There is a need for a holistic approach, starting with an understanding of risk factors and adequate treatment and disease monitoring. The ideal solution for this challenge should be: (a) a digital solution for patients and healthcare personnel to improve early-stage CKD diagnosis and monitoring; or (b) solution/technology to inter-connect all specialities involved in CKD Diagnosis, treatment management and monitoring.

Selected start-ups AstraZeneca-Challenge

RenalTracker is a digitally delivered kidney lifestyle change program to help delay dialysis. There are three components in the program: stage-appropriate digital training, asynchronous coaching & education programs using targeted patient acquisition, data science and cognitive behaviour therapy. The aim: generate novel Nephrology digital insights and help PCP’s better manage patients in-between doctor’s visits.

Binnovate Digital Health BV

Tucuvi is an AI-based virtual care platform that augments the care capacities of HCPs and ensures that every patient has continuous care at home via our voice-based device-free virtual caregiver. Tucuvi’s virtual caregiver maintains intelligent health-related conversations via phone calls with the patients, analyzes them in real-time, and shares the analysis, trends and alerts with the HCPs.

Tucuvi Care S.L. – Tucuvi Health Manager

Challenge #3

The key focus of the challenge is about digital remote monitoring and support solutions for patients with MS. The solutions would be used for monitoring disease evolution and/or monitoring of the patient’s quality of life and/or support patients to manage symptoms and maintain high adherence to therapies based on orals medication. These solutions would be used for marketed drugs in real-world environment & during clinical trials. 

 

Selected start-ups Merck-Challenge

The company builds privacy-focused applications that empower people living with chronic disease to track their health, discover potential triggers, and meaningfully contribute to research. One such application is Emilyn, a multiple sclerosis companion that empowers people living with multiple sclerosis to track and understand their condition better, and have more meaningful conversations with their doctors.

BreakthroughX Health GmbH

Icometrix offers a portfolio of AI solutions to assist healthcare with various challenges. For the challenge, they offer icompanion, a digital companion for PwMS that offers day-to-day health monitoring. The app allows patients with MS to track their symptoms, diary notes, mood, treatments, and QoL PROs focused on cognition and fatigue. The app also offers treatment reminders to improve adherence and curated educational content to educate and empower patients with MS.

Icometrix

ExactCure can build personalised PK/PD models of MS drugs that can be used to tailor medication treatments, depending on the personal characteristics of patients. Healthcare professionals will be given a web-based simulator to personalise drug regimens specifically to their patients. Patients, on the other hand, will use their mobile app or a novel white-label app, to keep track of their treatment, to improve their adherence, and to monitor disease progression.

ExactCure

FIMO is developing a solution for MS-related fatigue that uses smartphone and smartwatch sensor technology to collect various vital and environmental factors from patients. Their solution is based on Big Data and modern scientific methods and is supported by state-of-the-art design, gamification and elements of cognitive-behavioural therapy and acceptance and commitment therapy.

FIMO

Challenge #4

Clinical trials are becoming more and more complex. Patient identification based on specific criteria and profile is a key element of site feasibility. Current solutions do not allow to estimate recruitment potential in a timely manner and there is a need of innovative solutions to manage the identification and triaging of patients in clinical trials. The ideal solution should allow better patient identification, higher recruitment and support for data management.

Selected start-ups Amgen-Challenge

Collective Thinking has developed a disrupting AI software called Intelligence For Health (i4H for short) that can analyze in real-time all unstructured textual content from clinical reports from the hospital EHR database to accurately screen for all eligible patients for clinical trials, increasing the reliability of feasibility studies and speeding up patient enrollment in open trial centres.

Collective Thinking

IMAGEENS has developed a clinically validated research platform for cardiovascular imaging data, allowing physicians to collaboratively build clinical decision AI. For the challenge, they have built AI to automatically identify and triage patients with specific imaging characteristics in routine care and in Europe’s largest medical database.

IMAGEENS

CTMA strives to continuously provide sponsors and clinical trial sites the best digital pre-screening solutions to facilitate patients’ detection and inclusion in clinical studies. Their innovative technology CT-SCOUT™ supports investigators by boosting patient recruitment in clinical trials. CT-SCOUT™ is a web platform allowing all physicians to become real-time recruiters by increasing the early recognition of potentially eligible patients in any centre.

Clinical Trials Mobile Application

The French-based company is building open-source data analytics and data warehousing solutions to help hospitals provide better care to patients. Their solution for the challenge includes an end-to-end platform enabling hospitals to generate RWE (real world evidence) and valorise it towards life science companies.

CODOC

Challenge #5

Age-related loss of muscle mass and strength leads to loss of physical function and consequently, it presents major health and economic burden to society. Currently, there is low awareness of age-related muscle and strength loss due to a lack of easy screening/ diagnostic tools. The key focus of the challenge is easy screening/ diagnostic tools that identify people at risk of muscle mass/ strength/ physical function loss that can be easily integrated into a digital system tied to recommendations for treatment/ management to prevent progression to mobility-disability. 

Selected start-ups Abbott-Challenge

Gripwise is a visionary solution comprising a digital and smart load cell to measure the strength profile of different muscular groups by means of several accessories and software applications. The Bluetooth communication and a dedicated APP with a database allows a real-time screening, compare previous measurements and assess the physical and nutritional frailty of people.

Gripwise

Qolware is developing a platform for the assessment of frailty in intervention studies using wearable sensors. The patient management platform integrates sensor and clinical data for the automatic assessment of physical decline and loss of muscle. By using wearable sensors in the activities of daily living, screening for sarcopenia becomes more accurate and easier, for the patient as well as for the clinician.

QoLWare

Walk with path develops Path Feel, gait-analysing smart insoles, aimed to prevent serious injuries and death in elderly people by detecting sarcopenia, encouraging activity, and providing haptic (vibrational) feedback. Data collected is analysed with AI and displayed in a smartphone app and downstream dashboard, while Path Insight (PIn), allows patients and their selected healthcare professionals (HCPs) to track their health status.

Walk with Path

Trak has developed an artificial vision algorithm, more specifically pose estimation, which detects the patient’s movements, corrects them in real-time and transmits data to the physiotherapist on how the patient has been rehabilitated. With that in mind, Trak has developed physical exercise programs for older adults that help prevent and treat: sarcopenia, cardiovascular disease (hypertension), frailty, sedentary lifestyle, obesity or diabetes.

Trak Health

Looking back at Startups Meet Pharma 2020: 5 challenges | 4 partners | 16 start-ups

In 2020, five challenges were released in collaboration with four EIT Health Partners: Amgen, Bayer, Beiersdorf and Boehringer Ingelheim. Over the course of 6 months, 16 start-ups from 15 different countries worked intensely with our key pharma partners over workshops, trainings, and 1-on-1 meetings. The results: 3 signed NDAs, 4 pilots currently in the planning phase, with their kick-off foreseen for early 2021, 2 applications to the EIT Health investor network and an open invitation for further engagement.

Startups Meet Pharma 2019 | 5 challenges | 5 partners | 14 start-ups

In the 2019 edition of the Startups Meet Pharma programme, startups that were developing digital solutions with an impact on both the pharmaceutical industry and patients were invited to tackle five challenges by Bayer, UCB, Johnson & Johnson, Amgen and Ferrer. Find out more about the programme and read more about Pilloxa’s experience in SMP 2019 in the interview with the founder and CEO, Francesco Mazzotta.

YouTube

By loading the video, you agree to YouTube’s privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Testimonials

“We are now engaged in discussions with UCB. The discussions and training had a very high quality. It was very valuable to us. We learned and improved a lot and definitely changed our perspective about our own business and the strategy we want to follow.”

Nélson Oliveira, BestHealth4U

“We had close discussions not only with senior pharma employees, but also with experts with deep functional & industry expertise! I especially want to mention our very helpful exchange with the EIT Health team and also the close collaboration with our mentor from the MCN.”

Jeremy Henrichs, NALA.care

“The program has been really good for us. It was great for us to build some collaborations with other startups and not just with Amgen, but with other pharmaceutical companies. We really enjoyed the process”.

Mark Rogers, BioXplor

We are delighted to go through the whole SMP program. We got the chance to meet people we wouldn’t otherwise meet, we got dedicated time with the pharma companies to explore the technology and spoke to other pharma companies beyond our challenge.

Marko Topalovic, ArtiQ

Contact

Barbara Costa

Business Creation Manager - SMP2021
+49 621 764 461-15

Startups Meet Pharma 2021

Startups Meet Pharma 2021

Startups Meet Pharma bringt in einem Rahmen (i) große Pharmaunternehmen, die spezifische Probleme in ihrem Interessensgebiet darstellen, und (ii) Start-ups, die innovative Technologien und Dienstleistungen entwickeln, die potenzielle Lösungen für die ausgewählten Herausforderungen darstellen, zusammen.

Im Jahr 2021 haben wir uns mit vier Pharmafirmen, Takeda, Merck, Amgen und AstraZeneca, zusammengetan und laden nun Start-ups ein, gemeinsam ihre Herausforderungen mit betrieblichen Produkten und Dienstleistungen anzugehen.

Wenn Ihr innovative Technologien und Dienstleistungen entwickelt, die potenzielle Lösungen für die ausgewählten Herausforderungen für 2021 darstellen, reicht jetzt Eure Bewerbung ein!

Programmstruktur

  • Modul 1 (17-21/05/2021, Online/Heidelberg): 5 Tage “Entrepreneurship training”. Start-ups erhalten maßgeschneiderte Workshops zu verschiedenen Werkzeugen und Methoden, um ihr Unternehmen erfolgreich aufzubauen.
  • Modul 2 (07-11/06/2021, Online/Heidelberg): 5 Tage Workshops der am Programm beteiligten Pharmapartner zum Thema Zusammenarbeit mit den großen Spielern am Markt.
  • Modul 3 (2-23/07/2021, Online/Betriebsgelände von Pharmaunternehmen): Start-ups besuchen ausgewählte Pharmaunternehmen, die am Programm beteiligt sind, um Kooperationsmöglichkeiten zu besprechen.
  • Modul 4 (November 2021): Demo Day. Start-ups pitchen vor Vertretern von Pharmaunternehmen, Investoren, EIT Health-Partnern und Stakeholdern.

Wir bieten

  • Ihr werdet mit den besten Experten in Eurem Bereich zusammenarbeiten und Entwicklungsunterstützung von einem großen Pharmaunternehmen erhalten.
  • Ihr erhaltet ein maßgeschneidertes Trainingsprogramm, das Eurem Start-up zum Erfolg verhilft.
  • Ihr erhaltet persönlichen Zugang zu Euren Pharmasponsoren und können so Beziehungen zu wichtigen Stakeholdern und Branchenführern aufbauen.
YouTube

By loading the video, you agree to YouTube’s privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Challenge #1

Die Diagnose von ADHS bei Erwachsenen ist für das Gesundheitspersonal eine komplexe und zeitaufwändige Aufgabe. Digitale Lösungen können Hilfe bei der klinischen Entscheidungsfindung, Unterstützung bei der Diagnose, der personalisierten Behandlung und der Überwachung des Behandlungserfolgs bieten. Lösungen für die Challenge können unter anderem: Gamification, AR/VR, Machine-Learning/Künstliche Intelligenz, Wearbles, Sensoren, IoT, etc. sein.

Diese Start-ups stellen sich der Takeda-Challenge

Braingaze’s Lösung, BGaze Clinic, ist ein einzigartiges patentiertes, wissenschaftlich erprobtes und klinisch validiertes Biomarker-basiertes Entscheidungshilfesystem für die frühe und objektive Diagnose von ADHS bei Erwachsenen und Kindern. Das Unternehmen entwickelt außerdem BGaze Therapy, einen einzigartigen Ansatz zur digitalen Behandlung mit gamifizierten interaktiven Eye-Tracking-Spielen zur Verbesserung der Aufmerksamkeitsprobleme von Patienten.

Braingaze

Basierend auf starken klinischen Beweisen führt PeakProfiling eine sprachbasierte Diagnostik für ADHS bei Erwachsenen ein. Die Lösung kann die Hauptmängel der heutigen ADHS-Diagnostik beheben: Bereitstellung einer genauen Diagnose für alle, Beschleunigung des Diagnoseprozesses auf 1 Minute, Ermöglichung einer personalisierten Behandlung und gründliche Überwachung des Ansprechens auf die Behandlung.

PeakProfiling

Iluria entwickelt eine klinisch validierte Überwachungssoftware, die Pflegepersonen und Familien bei der Unterstützung von ADHS-Management- und Behandlungsentscheidungen unterstützt. Ihre Lösung wird die bestehende, auf Versuch und Irrtum basierende Behandlungsüberwachung verbessern, die derzeit ADHS-Patienten verabreicht wird, indem sie eine umfassende Softwarelösung bietet, die eine kontinuierliche und passive Überwachung (unter Verwendung eines beliebigen Smart Wearables) unter Verwendung physiologischer Daten ermöglicht, die bereits klinisch mit ADHS und maschineller Lernanalyse verbunden sind.

Iluria Ltd

Peili Vision hat eine Plattform geschaffen, die drei Methoden kombiniert: VR-Technologie, Daten und Gamification. Für diese Herausforderung bieten sie eine VR-Lösung an, die verschiedene Messmethoden und Datenpunkte bietet, mit denen die Aktivitäten eines Patienten in einer realen simulativen Umgebung am genauesten gemessen werden können. Diese neuartigen Messmethoden können als Teil der ADHS-Diagnose verwendet werden.

Peilivision

Challenge #2

Chronische Nierenerkrankungen (CKD) werden von Gesundheitsdienstleistern unterdiagnostiziert und zu wenig erkannt. Es besteht ein Bedarf an einem ganzheitlichen Ansatz, der mit dem Verständnis der Risikofaktoren und einer angemessenen Behandlung und Krankheitsüberwachung beginnt. Die ideale Lösung für diese Challenge sollte sein: (a) eine digitale Lösung für Patienten und medizinische Fachkräfte zur Verbesserung der CKD-Diagnose und -Überwachung im Frühstadium; oder (b) eine Lösung/Technologie zur Vernetzung aller Fachbereiche, die an der CKD-Diagnose, dem Behandlungsmanagement und der Überwachung beteiligt sind.

Diese Start-ups stellen sich der AstraZeneka-Challenge

RenalTracker ist ein digital bereitgestelltes Programm zur Änderung des Lebensstils bezüglich Nierengesundheit, mit dem Ziel, die Dialyse zu verzögern. Das Programm besteht aus drei Komponenten: stadiengerechtes digitales Training, asynchrone Coaching- und Bildungsprogramme mit gezielter Patientenakquise, Datenwissenschaft und kognitiver Verhaltenstherapie. Das Ziel: neuartige digitale Erkenntnisse zur Nephrologie zu gewinnen und PCPs dabei zu helfen, Patienten zwischen Arztbesuchen besser zu versorgen.

Binnovate Digital Health BV

Tucuvi ist eine KI-basierte virtuelle Pflegeplattform, die die Pflegekapazitäten von HCPs erweitert und sicherstellt, dass jeder Patient über unsere sprachbasierte, gerätefreie virtuelle Pflegekraft zu Hause kontinuierlich versorgt wird. Die virtuelle Pflegekraft von Tucuvi führt intelligente gesundheitsbezogene Gespräche über Telefonanrufe mit den Patienten, analysiert sie in Echtzeit und teilt die Analysen, Trends und Warnungen mit den HCPs.

Tucuvi Care S.L. – Tucuvi Health Manager

Challenge #3

Das Hauptaugenmerk der Challenge liegt auf digitalen Fernüberwachungs- und Unterstützungslösungen für MS-Patienten. Die Lösungen würden für die Überwachung des Krankheitsverlaufs und/oder die Überwachung der Lebensqualität der Patienten eingesetzt werden und/oder die Patienten bei der Bewältigung der Symptome und der Aufrechterhaltung einer hohen Therapietreue auf der Basis von oralen Medikamenten unterstützen. Diese Lösungen würden für vermarktete Medikamente in der realen Welt und während klinischer Studien verwendet werden.

Diese Start-ups stellen sich der Merck-Challenge

Das Unternehmen entwickelt datenschutzorientierte Anwendungen, mit denen Menschen mit chronischen Krankheiten ihre Gesundheit verfolgen, potenzielle Auslöser entdecken und einen bedeutenden Beitrag zur Forschung leisten können. Eine solche Anwendung ist Emilyn, eine Begleiterin für Multiple Sklerose, die es Menschen mit Multipler Sklerose ermöglicht, ihren Zustand besser zu verfolgen und zu verstehen und aussagekräftigere Gespräche mit ihren Ärzten zu führen.

BreakthroughX Health GmbH

Icometrix bietet ein Portfolio von KI-Lösungen an, um das Gesundheitswesen bei verschiedenen Herausforderungen zu unterstützen. Für diese Herausforderung bieten sie icompanion an, einen digitalen Begleiter für PwMS, der eine tägliche Gesundheitsüberwachung ermöglicht. Mit der App können Patienten mit MS ihre Symptome, Tagebuchnotizen, Stimmung, Behandlungen und QoL-PROs verfolgen, die sich auf Kognition und Müdigkeit konzentrieren. Die App bietet auch Behandlungserinnerungen zur Verbesserung der Einhaltung und kuratierte Bildungsinhalte, um Patienten mit MS aufzuklären und zu befähigen.

Icometrix

ExactCure kann personalisierte PK / PD-Modelle von MS-Medikamenten erstellen, mit denen die medikamentösen Behandlungen je nach den persönlichen Merkmalen der Patienten angepasst werden können. Angehörige von Gesundheitsberufen erhalten einen webbasierten Simulator, mit dem sie die Medikamentenschemata speziell für ihre Patienten personalisieren können. Patienten hingegen verwenden ihre mobile App oder eine neuartige White-Label-App, um ihre Behandlung zu verfolgen, ihre Einhaltung zu verbessern und das Fortschreiten der Krankheit zu überwachen.

ExactCure

FIMO entwickelt eine Lösung für MS-bedingte Müdigkeit, bei der mithilfe von Smartphone- und Smartwatch-Sensortechnologie verschiedene Vital- und Umweltfaktoren von Patienten erfasst werden. Ihre Lösung basiert auf Big Data und modernen wissenschaftlichen Methoden und wird durch modernstes Design, Gamification und Elemente der kognitiven Verhaltenstherapie sowie der Akzeptanz- und Bindungstherapie unterstützt.

FIMO

Challenge #4

Klinische Studien werden immer komplexer. Die Identifizierung von Patienten anhand spezifischer Kriterien/Profile ist ein Schlüsselelement für die Durchführbarkeit. Aktuelle Lösungen erlauben keine zeitnahe Abschätzung des Rekrutierungspotenzials und brauchen Unterstützung durch innovative Lösungen, um die Identifikation und Triagierung von Patienten in definierten klinischen Studien zu verwalten. Die ideale Lösung sollte daher eine bessere Identifizierung der Patienten, eine höhere Rekrutierung ermöglichen und das Datenmanagement unterstützen.

Diese Start-ups stellen sich der Amgen-Challenge

Collective Thinking hat eine störende KI-Software namens Intelligence For Health (kurz i4H) entwickelt, die alle unstrukturierten Textinhalte aus klinischen Berichten aus der EHR-Datenbank des Krankenhauses in Echtzeit analysieren kann, um alle in Frage kommenden Patienten für klinische Studien genau zu überprüfen und so die Zuverlässigkeit von Machbarkeitsstudien zu erhöhen und die Patientenrekrutierung in offenen Studienzentren zu beschleunigen.

Collective Thinking

IMAGEENS hat eine klinisch validierte Forschungsplattform für kardiovaskuläre Bildgebungsdaten entwickelt, mit der Ärzte gemeinsam klinische Entscheidungs-KI erstellen können. Für diese Herausforderung haben sie KI entwickelt, um Patienten mit spezifischen Bildgebungsmerkmalen in der Routineversorgung und in Europas größter medizinischer Datenbank automatisch zu identifizieren und zu untersuchen.

IMAGEENS

CTMA ist bestrebt, Sponsoren und Standorten für klinische Studien kontinuierlich die besten digitalen Vorscreening-Lösungen zur Verfügung zu stellen, um die Erkennung und Einbeziehung von Patienten in klinische Studien zu erleichtern. Ihre innovative Technologie CT-SCOUT ™ unterstützt Forscher, indem sie die Patientenrekrutierung in klinischen Studien fördert. CT-SCOUT ™ ist eine Webplattform, die es allen Ärzten ermöglicht, in Echtzeit Personalvermittler zu werden, indem die Früherkennung potenziell in Frage kommender Patienten in jedem Zentrum verbessert wird.

Clinical Trials Mobile Application

Das in Frankreich ansässige Unternehmen entwickelt Open-Source-Lösungen für Datenanalyse und Data Warehousing, um Krankenhäusern dabei zu helfen, Patienten besser zu versorgen. Ihre Lösung für die Herausforderung umfasst eine End-to-End-Plattform, die es Krankenhäusern ermöglicht, RWE (reale Beweise) zu generieren und diese für Life-Science-Unternehmen aufzuwerten.

codoc

Challenge #5

Der altersbedingte Abbau von Muskelmasse und -kraft führt zur Einschränkung körperlicher Funktionen, was eine große gesundheitliche und wirtschaftliche Belastung für die Gesellschaft darstellt. Aufgrund von mangelndem Zugang zu Screening- /Diagnostikinstrumenten bleibt der Verfall häufig unerkannt. Das Hauptaugenmerk dieser Challenge sind unkomplizierte Screening-/Diagnoseinstrumente, die das Risiko eines Verlustes an Muskelmasse und -kraft am Menschen erkennen. Diese Instrumente sollen leicht in ein digitales System integriert werden können, das Behandlungsmethoden empfehlt und so ein Fortschreiten der Mobilitätseinschränkung verhindern kann.

Diese Start-ups stellen sich der Abbott-Challenge

Gripwise ist eine visionäre Lösung, die eine digitale und intelligente Wägezelle umfasst, um das Kraftprofil verschiedener Muskelgruppen mithilfe verschiedener Zubehör- und Softwareanwendungen zu messen. Die Bluetooth-Kommunikation und eine dedizierte App mit einer Datenbank ermöglichen ein Echtzeit-Screening, den Vergleich früherer Messungen und die Beurteilung der körperlichen und ernährungsbedingten Schwäche von Menschen.

Gripwise

Qolware entwickelt eine Plattform zur Bewertung von Gebrechlichkeit in Interventionsstudien mit tragbaren Sensoren. Die Patientenmanagementplattform integriert Sensor- und klinische Daten zur automatischen Beurteilung des körperlichen Rückgangs und des Muskelverlusts. Durch die Verwendung tragbarer Sensoren im täglichen Leben wird das Screening auf Sarkopenie sowohl für den Patienten als auch für den Kliniker genauer und einfacher.

Qolware

Walk with Path entwickelt Path Feel, eine Ganganalyse mit intelligenten Einlegesohlen, die darauf abzielt, schwere Verletzungen und den Tod älterer Menschen zu verhindern, indem Sarkopenie erkannt, Aktivitäten gefördert und haptisches (Vibrations-) Feedback gegeben wird. Die gesammelten Daten werden mit KI analysiert und in einer Smartphone-App und einem nachgelagerten Dashboard angezeigt. Mit Path Insight (PIn) können Patienten und ihre ausgewählten Angehörigen der Gesundheitsberufe (HCPs) ihren Gesundheitszustand verfolgen.

Walk with Path

Trak hat einen künstlichen Sehalgorithmus entwickelt, genauer gesagt eine Posenschätzung, die die Bewegungen des Patienten erfasst, in Echtzeit korrigiert und dem Physiotherapeuten Daten darüber übermittelt, wie der Patient rehabilitiert wurde. Vor diesem Hintergrund hat Trak Bewegungsprogramme für ältere Erwachsene entwickelt, die zur Vorbeugung und Behandlung von Sarkopenie, Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen (Bluthochdruck), Gebrechlichkeit, Bewegungsmangel, Fettleibigkeit oder Diabetes beitragen.

Trak Health

Rückblick Startups Meet Pharma 2020: 5 challenges | 4 Partner | 16 Start-ups

Im Jahr 2020 wurden in Zusammenarbeit mit vier EIT Health Partnern - Amgen, Bayer, Beiersdorf und Boehringer Ingelheim - fünf Herausforderungen veröffentlicht. Innerhalb von 6 Monaten haben 16 Start-ups aus 15 verschiedenen Ländern bei Workshops, Trainings und 1:1 Meetings intensiv mit unseren wichtigsten Pharmapartnern zusammengearbeitet. Die Resultate: 3 unterschriebene Verschwiegenheitsvereinbarungen, 4 Pilotprojekte aktuell in der Planungsphase, der Kick-off ist für Anfang 2021 vorgesehen, 2 Bewerbungen für das EIT Health Investorennetzwerk und eine offene Einladung für weiteres Engagement.

Startups Meet Pharma 2019 | 5 Challenges | 5 Partner | 14 Start-ups

In der Ausgabe 2019 des Start-ups Meet Pharma-Programms wurden Start-ups, die digitale Lösungen mit Auswirkungen auf die Pharmaindustrie und die Patienten entwickelten, von Bayer, UCB, Johnson & Johnson, Amgen und Ferrer zu fünf Herausforderungen eingeladen. Erfahren Sie mehr über das Programm und lesen Sie über Pilloxas Erfahrung in SMP 2019 im Interview mit dem Gründer und CEO Francesco Mazzotta.

YouTube

By loading the video, you agree to YouTube’s privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Testimonials

„We are now engaged in discussions with UCB. The discussions and training had a very high quality. It was very valuable to us. We learned and improved a lot and definitely changed our perspective about our own business and the strategy we want to follow.“

Nélson Oliveira, BestHealth4U

“We had close discussions not only with senior pharma employees, but also with experts with deep functional & industry expertise! I especially want to mention our very helpful exchange with the EIT Health team and also the close collaboration with our mentor from the MCN.”

Jeremy Henrichs, NALA.care

„The program has been really good for us. It was great for us to build some collaborations with other start-ups and not just with Amgen, but with other pharmaceutical companies. We really enjoyed the process“.

Mark Rogers, BioXplor

We are delighted to go through the whole SMP program. We got the chance to meet people we wouldn’t otherwise meet, we got dedicated time with the pharma companies to explore the technology and spoke to other pharma companies beyond our challenge.

Marko Topalovic, ArtiQ

Kontakt

Barbara Costa

Business Creation Manager - SMP2021
+49 621 764 461-15