Event

“Challenges in Biopharmaceutical Productions” – Community and Education

February
11-11
Begin: 11:45-13:00 CET
Online

Challenges in Biopharmaceutical Production

Prof. Dr. Philipp Wiedemann  // Hochschule Mannheim

Organised as monthly 1-hour-webinars, the ultimate goal of the seminar series “Community and Education in Action” is to assemble like-minded intellectuals and professionals from our community to trade ideas, thoughts, and views related to a specific EIT-Health topic especially focused in the Education Pillar.

 

Registration:

To receive the dial-in information, just register via this Eventbrite-Link.

After the series, an e-booklet will be published with the summaries and information of the speakers. Participants can receive a recording of their session after the Video and will have the opportunity to provide their feedback.

 

About this seminar:

Biopharmaceuticals, predominantly recombinant proteins, are still a relatively new class of pharmaceuticals with the first approvals dating back to the late 1980s. Nevertheless, they have gained considerable attention – since they successfully target severe indications like e.g. cancer – and they are consistently one of the fastest-growing pharmaceutical market segments.

In this talk, we will explore some general principles of biopharmaceuticals and their production and, on this basis, try to elucidate some of the major challenges and changes this exciting and highly interdisciplinary field is currently undergoing.

 

Our speaker: Philipp Wiedemann:

Philipp Wiedemann studied Biology at the universities of Bonn (Germany), York (UK), and Stanford (USA). He obtained a Ph.D. in Molecular Neuropharmacology at the University of Bonn. Philipp worked for biotech companies in Germany and abroad, amongst others in the large-scale production of biopharmaceuticals. In 2007, he joined Mannheim University of Applied Sciences, where he focuses on teaching and research in cell culture technology, process monitoring, and quality assurance. Additionally, he is Scientific Advisor to the Biotech StartUp Aucteq GmbH.

Event

„Challenges in Biopharmaceutical Production“ – Community and Education

Februar
11-11
Begin: 11:45-13:00 MEZ
Online

Challenges in Biopharmaceutical Production

Prof. Dr. Philipp Wiedemann  // Hochschule Mannheim

Die Seminarreihe “Community and Education in Action”, die als monatliche 1-stündige Webinare organisiert ist, hat das Ziel, gleichgesinnte Intellektuelle und Fachleute aus unserer Community zu versammeln, um Ideen, Gedanken und Ansichten zu einem bestimmten EIT-Health-Thema auszutauschen, das im Zusammenhang mit dem Education Pillar steht.

 

Anmeldung:

Um die Einwahlinformationen zu erhalten, registrieren Sie sich einfach über diesen Eventbrite-Link.-Link.

Im Anschluss an die Reihe wird ein E-Booklet mit den Zusammenfassungen und Informationen der Referenten veröffentlicht. Die Teilnehmer können nach dem Video eine Aufzeichnung ihrer Sitzung erhalten und haben die Möglichkeit, ihr Feedback abzugeben.

 

Über dieses Seminar:

Biopharmazeutika, überwiegend rekombinante Proteine, sind noch eine relativ neue Arzneimittelklasse, deren erste Zulassungen bis in die späten 1980er Jahre zurückreichen. Dennoch haben sie beträchtliche Aufmerksamkeit erlangt – da sie erfolgreich schwere Indikationen wie z.B. Krebs – und sie gehören durchweg zu den am schnellsten wachsenden Pharmamarktsegmenten.

In diesem Vortrag werden wir einige allgemeine Prinzipien von Biopharmazeutika und ihrer Herstellung untersuchen und auf dieser Grundlage versuchen, einige der großen Herausforderungen und Veränderungen zu beleuchten, die dieses spannende und stark interdisziplinäre Gebiet derzeit durchmacht.

 

Unser Referent: Philipp Wiedemann

Philipp Wiedemann studierte Biologie an den Universitäten Bonn (Deutschland), York (UK) und Stanford (USA). Er erhielt einen Ph.D. in Molekularer Neuropharmakologie an der Universität Bonn. Philipp arbeitete für Biotech-Unternehmen im In- und Ausland, unter anderem in der Großproduktion von Biopharmazeutika. 2007 wechselte er an die Hochschule Mannheim, wo er sich auf Lehre und Forschung in den Bereichen Zellkulturtechnologie, Prozessüberwachung und Qualitätssicherung konzentriert. Darüber hinaus ist er wissenschaftlicher Berater des Biotech StartUp Aucteq GmbH.