Education Seminar Series:
Community and Education in Action

“Offering lifelong learning opportunities for professionals in Europe and globally” – that is the declared mission of the EIT Health Germany Education Pillar. The pillar offers a complex myriad of possibilities for education in various fields of healthcare that goes beyond (but not excluding) the classical university campus.

Organised as monthly 1-hour-webinars, the ultimate goal of the seminar series “Community and Education in Action” is to assemble like-minded intellectuals and professionals from our community to trade ideas, thoughts, and views related to a specific EIT-Health topic especially focused in the Education Pillar.

What benefits you can gain from this series:

hi

  • A detailed overview of current education projects, consortia, and opportunities
  • Learn about the success of our education projects and the partners behind
  • The opportunity to discuss possible education proposals and share experiences with players in current projects
  • A room to discuss different topics with a highly experienced range of partners
  • Education on a variety of topics reaching from entrepreneurial issues to current ongoing discussions
  • Connecting to representatives of our Education Network
  • Learn what programmes are open for application and what they offer

Programme:

Further information on the individual seminars and speakers will be added shortly. The online seminars usually take place on every SECOND FRIDAY of the month from 11:45 -13:00 CET (see below).

15 Oktober 2021 // 11:45-13:00 CET

The entrepreneurial mindset and the future of healthcare

Paul Coyle // Director at Entrepreneurial Mindset Network, Bordeaux, France.

About this seminar

Even before the COVID-19 pandemic healthcare systems all over the world were facing many challenges:

 

  • How to meet the needs of a diverse population of patients?
  • How to find more innovative solutions?
  • How to remain true to the core values and best traditions of healthcare?
  • How to dare to disrupt the status quo?
  • How to engage the support of patients, healthcare professional, and stakeholders in the necessary changes?
  • How to deliver the best quality healthcare within the available resources?
  • How to overcome the inertia inherent in the current systems and make faster progress?

 

Responding to these challenges calls for change – and change is never easy.  Too often the solutions are seen as requiring complex reorganisation and major change management programmes. This seminar will examine these issues by exploring the role of the entrepreneurial mindset in the future of healthcare.  The entrepreneurial mindset is often seen as exclusively associated with entrepreneurs. However, anyone can gain benefits from thinking and acting like an entrepreneur, whether they want to set up a business, or are employed in the public, private or not-for-profit sectors. There is increasing recognition of the value that can be gained by individuals, teams, and organisations by using an entrepreneurial mindset in healthcare.  The seminar will provide a definition of the entrepreneurial mindset, which is based on a systematic analysis of published research and professional practice, and explain the role of the mindset in addressing current and future healthcare challenges.

Our Speaker: Paul Coyle

The seminar will be led by Paul Coyle, the Director of the Entrepreneurial Mindset Network. Paul is known as an international expert in the entrepreneurial mindset, leadership, and organisational transformation. He is an alumnus of the Saïd Business School at the University of Oxford and a member of the Oxford Entrepreneurs Network. Paul has given presentations at conferences, written papers for journals, authored reports of national projects, been interviewed for specialist publications, and written numerous organisational strategies, policies, and internal reports. The events he has spoken at in Australia, throughout Europe, in the Far East, and South Africa have connected him to leading business schools, Fortune Global 500 companies, governmental bodies and ministries, healthcare providers, higher education institutions, hospitals, research bodies, private companies, public sector organizations, professional associations, and social enterprises. Paul is actively involved with the European Institute of Innovation and Technology, undertaking peer reviews of applications to EIT Heath Campus and EIT E-Labs, and as a juror for the EIT CHANGE awards.

12 November 2021 // 11:45-13:00 CET

Inclusive Health Multipliers – an Example for Collaborative Learning Arrangements

Dr. Daniela Schwarz & M. Med. Sc. Elke Langbein // Technische Universität München

About this seminar

This seminar will focus on the EIT Health Summer School InPhysEd (Inclusive Physical Education: Making physical activity inclusive and open for all) as an example of an innovative learning format.

InPhysEd is designed for trainee teachers, sports & health science students including and supported by people with intellectual disabilities (ID). The programme empowers participants through co-learning, co-designing, and challenging-orientated problem-solving in collaborative learning arrangements, and lets them develop and pitch solutions to complex questions of inclusion within physical and health education.

The seminar will highlight some results, including:

  • What challenges inclusion must overcome in different historical, social, and cultural areas
  • How these change the health and education experience of people with ID
  • How collaborative idea generation helps to develop the design of a targeted approach to inclusive physical education
  • entrepreneurial approaches to idea generation and problem-solving

The following step is to develop this inclusive health orientated approach further: increasing health awareness and active behaviour through multipliers that serve as health leaders and role models. The educational programme targets health workforces, prospective and current health educators, medical professionals, students with a health science background people with special needs, and especially with ID in the broad context of mega sports events like the Special Olympics.

InPhysEd lets people with special needs develop their health and multiplier skills with the aim to develop advanced ideas on how to tackle health issues facing people with special needs all over the world.

Our speakers: Dr. Daniela Schwarz & M. Med. Sc. Elke Langbein

Dr. Daniela Schwarz & M. Med. Sc. Elke Langbein, Team ELDA has a strong focus on professional education, vast experience in social inclusion through sport and health, and successful expertise in leading international projects, e.g. EIT Health Summer School InPhysEd Inclusive Physical Education: Making social inclusion and physical activity inclusive and open for all. For their innovative inclusive teaching seminar, they have been awarded several prices and public recognition. The voluntary role as Clinical & Regional Directors of Strong Minds a Health program of Special Olympics (SO) supports the connection to external international and national cooperation partners in the fields of sport and governmental stakeholders. Blending learning formats, collaborative settings in universal design bringing different disciplines and stakeholders together are their strengths. Team ELDA is located at the Technical University of Munich (TUM) in the Department of Sport and Health Sciences which offers a broad, interdisciplinary scientific portfolio on numerous topics in sport and the health sciences.

10 December 2021 // 11:45-13:00 CET

The importance of digital skills in healthcare

Dr. Armin Ritter// Fraunhofer Academy

About this seminar

It is no secret that healthcare systems across Europe are under pressure to develop their effectiveness and remain competitive. Digital technologies have the potential to transform the way we deliver care. Other industries have experienced productivity gains of up to 20% from digitisation, but healthcare delivery has yet to realise such gains. One of the reasons for this is the lack of digital skills in the healthcare workforce. This lack of sufficient digital knowledge leads to poor adoption of new technologies, that could bring the required change. There is an urgent need for upskilling of the workforce and that has become even more pressing in the pandemic. Professionals and managers in the healthcare ecosystem need to be able to innovate, adapt and engage with new technologies and the changing pace of medicine. The Transformative Digital Skills for Healthcare Training Programme addresses these challenges.

 

Our speaker: Armin Ritter

Armin Ritter is an economics pedagogic and innovation expert. Focus of his work is on innovations in professional education with the aim of effectiveness and transfer to the work environment. Armin is leading the business unit Corporate Learning of the Fraunhofer Academy, which develops and implements comprehensive technology-driven upskilling and reskilling programmes. Prior to Fraunhofer, Armin acquired extensive experience in complex lean management and innovation projects.in aerospace, automotive, and manufacturing industry. As a professional facilitator, Armin has coached management teams in the industry and education sector.

21 January 2022 // 11:45-13:00 CET

Multidisciplinary Education and Self-management Counseling: Health in the XXI century

Prof. Dr. M. Cristina Polidori // University Hospital of Cologne

About this seminar

The concept of functional ability represents all the health-related attributes that enable people to be and to do what they value. It is determined by the environment as well as by the intrinsic capacity, a term that was recently defined by the WHO to evaluate the health of older people by focusing on their physical and mental capacities that enable wellbeing. The maintenance of intrinsic capacity is recognized as the central concept of a unique demographic change in which the world population faces two key challenges: steadily increasing life expectancy and overweight. These challenges are the predominant source of disease risk, with most chronic disorders worldwide being associated with lifestyle-related chronic conditions – cardiovascular diseases, diabetes, dementia, cancer, osteoporosis among others. Even the SARS-Cov-2 pandemic showed to hit this population substantially different than the ones affected by other pandemics of the past: highest mortality rates of COVID-19 concern aged and obese persons. Considering this evidence, education in its fundamental meaning is key to effective solidarity, intended as the Latin solidum, “whole sum”.

This seminar takes a close look at the challenges, healthcare worldwide faces in the 21st century. It explains the crucial role that education plays in the response, expounds the fundamental gaps, education actions need to close, and discusses the urgency to take action and enable all the social actors to maintain intrinsic capacity in the Anthropocene and prepare humanity for the post-2050 world.

Our speaker: M. Cristina Polidori

M. Cristina Polidori leads the Ageing Clinical Research group and belongs to the Management Team of the newly established Ward for Ageing Medicine at the Dpt. II of Internal Medicine of the University Hospital of Cologne. Here, Dr. Polidori is also responsible for the Teaching of Ageing Medicine and Medicine of the Aged as she is specialized in Gerontology and Geriatrics and in Internal Medicine and Geriatrics. She is a former Fellow of the Harvard University, of the EU Marie-Curie Programme Quality of Life and Management of Living Resources and of the Robert-Bosch Foundation. Since 2014 she is an Honorary Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians of London for her studies on healthy centenarians. Dr. Polidori is Delegate of the International Federation on Aging, member of the Scientific Committee of ProMoAge as well as Associate PI of the Cologne Excellence Cluster on Cellular Stress- Responses in Aging- Associated Diseases (CECAD), and local coordinator of the EIT Health Ageing PhD School. M. Cristina Polidori is listed among the 2% top world-ranked scientists in her field (PloS Biology 2020), has been awarded several national and international prizes as editor and author of over 140 most relevant books and publications in the field, and has an h-index of 44.

11 February 2022 // 11:45-13:00 CET

Challenges in Biopharmaceutical Production

Prof. Dr. Philipp Wiedemann  // Hochschule Mannheim

About this seminar

Biopharmaceuticals, predominantly recombinant proteins, are still a relatively new class of pharmaceuticals with the first approvals dating back to the late 1980s. Nevertheless, they have gained considerable attention – since they successfully target severe indications like e.g. cancer – and they are consistently one of the fastest-growing pharmaceutical market segments.

In this talk, we will explore some general principles of biopharmaceuticals and their production and, on this basis, try to elucidate some of the major challenges and changes this exciting and highly interdisciplinary field is currently undergoing.

Our speaker: Philipp Wiedemann

Philipp Wiedemann studied Biology at the universities of Bonn (Germany), York (UK), and Stanford (USA). He obtained a Ph.D. in Molecular Neuropharmacology at the University of Bonn. Philipp worked for biotech companies in Germany and abroad, amongst others in the large-scale production of biopharmaceuticals. In 2007, he joined Mannheim University of Applied Sciences, where he focuses on teaching and research in cell culture technology, process monitoring, and quality assurance. Additionally, he is Scientific Advisor to the Biotech StartUp Aucteq GmbH.

13 May 2022 // 11:45-13:00 CET

Insights into building up an incubator and accelerator at the University of Cologne

Marc Kley // GATEWAY Start-up & Transfer// Excellence Start-up Center // University of Cologne

About this seminar

The Gateway Excellence Start-up Center at the University of Cologne (UoC) addresses scientists and students with innovative ideas and encourages them to turn inventions into innovation by setting up their own start-up. Gateway assists upcoming start-ups throughout the entire life cycle from an initial idea or invention to a business model and the eventual spin-off from the UoC. So called “transfer scouts” are Gateway’s ambassadors at the UoC’s six faculties, screening working groups and research clusters for transfer all start-up ideas. This is of particular interest to researchers in the field of life science, i.e., the faculties of medicine and natural sciences.

Our speaker: Marc Kley

In his presentation, Marc Kley, head of the Gateway Excellence Start-up Center, examines the transfer scouts work and illustrates how a plain idea can become a sustaining spin-off with the support of Gateway’s people and infrastructure, such as idea competitions, incubators, or an accelerator programme. With twenty years of experience in assisting start-ups, Marc began working at the University of Cologne in 2011. Since 2015, he heads the Gateway, which received public funding in 2019 to build an “Excellence Start-up Center”, making the whole university more entrepreneurial and offering a wider ranging support to scientists interested in their own start-up.

Picture Source

11 March 2022 // 11:45-13:00 CET

Dr. Dominik Schumacher // Founder of Tubulis

Getting entrepreneurial with antibody-drug conjugates: Tubulis success recipe (final title TBC)

.

08 April 2022 // 11:45-13:00 CET

Dr. Jan Alexandersson // Deutsches Forschungszentrum für Künstliche Intelligenz

Machine Learning for Healthcare // AI // Impact on society through examples (final title TBC)

.

10 June 2022 // 11:45-13:00 CET

Prof. Dr. Jessica Lang // RWTH Aachen

Improving Health Outcomes in the Workplace: Outcomes of the “PsyHealth worXs” project.

Register now:

To receive the dial-in information, just register via this Eventbrite-Link.

After the series, an e-booklet will be published with the summaries and information of the speakers. Participants can receive a recording of their session after the Video and will have the opportunity to provide their feedback.

Education Seminarreihe:
Community and Education in Action

„Lebenslanges Lernen für Fachkräfte in Europa und weltweit bieten“ – das ist die erklärte Mission des Education-Pillars von EIT Health Germany. Education bietet eine komplexe Vielfalt an Ausbildungsmöglichkeiten in verschiedenen Bereichen des Gesundheitswesens, die über den klassischen Universitätscampus hinausgehen (diesen aber nicht ausschließen).

Das Ziel der Seminarreihe „Community and Education in Action“, die als monatliche 1-stündige Webinare organisiert ist, ist es, gleichgesinnte Intellektuelle und Fachleute aus unserer Community zu versammeln, um Ideen, Gedanken und Ansichten zu einem bestimmten EIT-Health-Thema auszutauschen, das im Zusammenhang mit dem Education Pillar steht.

Was Sie in dieser Seminarreihe erwartet:

.

  • Ein detaillierter Überblick über aktuelle Bildungsprojekte, Konsortien und Möglichkeiten
  • Erfahren Sie mehr über den Erfolg unserer Bildungsprojekte und die Partner dahinter
  • Die Chance, mögliche Bildungsvorschläge zu diskutieren und Erfahrungen mit Akteuren aus aktuellen Projekten auszutauschen
  • Ein Raum, um verschiedene Themen mit einem sehr erfahrenen Partnerkreis zu diskutieren
  • Weiterbildung zu einer Vielzahl von Themen, die von unternehmerischen Fragen bis hin zu aktuellen laufenden Diskussionen reichen
  • Verbindung zu Vertretern unseres Bildungsnetzwerks
  • Erfahren Sie, welche Programme zur Bewerbung offenstehen und was sie bieten

Programm:

Weitere Informationen zu den einzelnen Seminaren und Referenten folgen in Kürze. Die Online-Seminare finden in der Regel jeden ZWEITEN FREITAG im Monat von 11:45 – 13:00 Uhr MEZ statt (siehe unten).

15. Oktober 2021 // 11:45-13:00 MEZ

The entrepreneurial mindset and the future of healthcare

Paul Coyle // Director at Entrepreneurial Mindset Network, Bordeaux, France.

Über dieses Seminar

Bereits vor der COVID-19-Pandemie standen Gesundheitssysteme weltweit vor vielen Herausforderungen:

 

  • Wie wird man den Bedürfnissen einer vielfältigen Patientenpopulation gerecht?
  • Wie findet man innovativere Lösungen?
  • Wie bleibt man den Grundwerten und den besten Traditionen des Gesundheitswesens treu?
  • Wie kann man es wagen, den Status Quo zu durchbrechen?
  • Wie kann man Patienten, medizinisches Fachpersonal und Interessenvertreter bei den notwendigen Veränderungen unterstützen?
  • Wie kann mit den verfügbaren Ressourcen die beste Gesundheitsversorgung bereitstellen?
  • Wie kann man die den aktuellen Systemen innewohnende Trägheit überwinden und schneller vorankommen?

 

Die Reaktion auf diese Herausforderungen erfordert Veränderungen – und Veränderungen sind nie einfach. Allzu oft werden die Lösungen als komplexe Reorganisation und umfangreiche Change-Management-Programme angesehen. Dieses Seminar wird diese Fragen untersuchen, indem es die Rolle der unternehmerischen Denkweise in der Zukunft des Gesundheitswesens untersucht. Die unternehmerische Denkweise wird oft ausschließlich mit Unternehmern in Verbindung gebracht. Vom unternehmerischen Denken und Handeln kann jedoch jeder profitieren, egal ob er ein Unternehmen gründen möchte oder im öffentlichen, privaten oder gemeinnützigen Sektor beschäftigt ist. Der Wert, den Einzelpersonen, Teams und Organisationen durch unternehmerisches Denken im Gesundheitswesen erzielen können, wird zunehmend anerkannt. Das Seminar bietet eine Definition der unternehmerischen Denkweise, die auf einer systematischen Analyse veröffentlichter Forschung und beruflicher Praxis basiert, und erläutert die Rolle der Denkweise bei der Bewältigung aktueller und zukünftiger Herausforderungen im Gesundheitswesen.

Unser Referent: Paul Coyle

 

Das Seminar wird von Paul Coyle, dem Direktor des Entrepreneurial Mindset Network, geleitet. Paul ist als internationaler Experte für unternehmerische Denkweise, Führung und organisatorische Transformation bekannt. Er ist Alumnus der Saïd Business School der University of Oxford und Mitglied des Oxford Entrepreneurs Network. Paul hielt Vorträge auf Konferenzen, verfasste Artikel für Zeitschriften, verfasste Paper über nationale Projekte, wurde für Fachpublikationen interviewt und verfasste zahlreiche Organisationsstrategien, Richtlinien und interne Berichte. Die Veranstaltungen, bei denen er in Australien, in ganz Europa, im Fernen Osten und in Südafrika gesprochen hat, haben ihn mit führenden Business Schools, Fortune Global 500-Unternehmen, Regierungsbehörden und Ministerien, Gesundheitsdienstleistern, Hochschuleinrichtungen, Krankenhäusern, Forschungseinrichtungen, private Unternehmen, Organisationen des öffentlichen Sektors, Berufsverbände und sozialen Unternehmen verknüpft. Paul ist aktiv am European Institute of Innovation and Technology beteiligt, führt Peer-Reviews von Bewerbungen für den EIT Heath Campus und die EIT E-Labs durch und ist Juror für die EIT CHANGE Awards.

12. November 2021 // 11:45-13:00 MEZ

Inclusive Health Multipliers – an Example for Collaborative Learning Arrangements

Dr. Daniela Schwarz & M. Med. Sc. Elke Langbein // Technische Universität München

Über dieses Seminar

Im Mittelpunkt dieses Seminars steht die EIT Health Summer School InPhysEd (Inclusive Physical Education: Making physical activity inclusive and open for all) als Beispiel für ein innovatives Lernformat.

InPhysEd wurde für Lehramtsstudierende, Sport- und Gesundheitswissenschaftsstudenten entwickelt, einschließlich mit und unterstützt von Menschen mit geistiger Behinderung (ID). Das Programm befähigt die Teilnehmer durch gemeinsames Lernen, gemeinsames Gestalten und herausforderndes Problemlösen in kollaborativen Lernarrangements und ermöglicht es ihnen, Lösungen für komplexe Fragen der Inklusion in der Sport- und Gesundheitserziehung zu entwickeln und zu präsentieren.

Das Seminar wird einige Ergebnisse hervorheben, darunter:

  • Welche Herausforderungen muss Inklusion in verschiedenen historischen, sozialen und kulturellen Bereichen bewältigen?
  • Wie diese die Gesundheits- und Bildungserfahrung von Menschen mit ID verändern
  • Wie kollaborative Ideengenerierung dazu beiträgt, das Design eines zielgerichteten Ansatzes für den inklusiven Sportunterricht zu entwickeln
  • unternehmerische Ansätze zur Ideenfindung und Problemlösung

Der folgende Schritt besteht darin, diesen integrativen gesundheitsorientierten Ansatz weiterzuentwickeln: Stärkung des Gesundheitsbewusstseins und des aktiven Verhaltens durch Multiplikatoren, die als Gesundheitsführer und Vorbilder dienen. Das Bildungsprogramm richtet sich an Gesundheitspersonal, angehende und aktuelle Gesundheitspädagogen, Mediziner, Studenten mit gesundheitswissenschaftlichem Hintergrund, Menschen mit besonderen Bedürfnissen und insbesondere mit ID im breiten Kontext von Mega-Sportereignissen wie den Special Olympics.

InPhysEd ermöglicht es Menschen mit besonderen Bedürfnissen, ihre Gesundheits- und Multiplikatorfähigkeiten zu entwickeln, um fortschrittliche Ideen zu entwickeln, wie Gesundheitsprobleme von Menschen mit besonderen Bedürfnissen auf der ganzen Welt angegangen werden können.

Unsere Referentinnen: Dr. Daniela Schwarz & M. Med. Sc. Elke Langbein

 

Dr. Daniela Schwarz & M. Med. Sc. Elke Langbein, Team ELDA, haben einen starken Fokus auf berufliche Bildung, langjährige Erfahrung in der sozialen Inklusion durch Sport und Gesundheit und erfolgreiche Expertise in der Leitung internationaler Projekte, z.B. EIT Health Summer School InPhysEd – Inklusiver Sportunterricht: Soziale Inklusion und körperliche Aktivität inklusiv und offen für alle gestalten. Für ihr innovatives inklusives Lehrseminar wurden sie mit mehreren Preisen und öffentlicher Anerkennung ausgezeichnet. Die ehrenamtliche Tätigkeit als Clinical & Regional Directors von Strong Minds – einem Gesundheitsprogramm von Special Olympics (SO) – unterstützt die Verbindung zu externen internationalen und nationalen Kooperationspartnern im Sportbereich und staatlichen Akteuren. Blending Learning Formate, kollaborative Settings im Universal Design, die unterschiedliche Disziplinen und Stakeholder zusammenbringen, sind ihre Stärken. Das Team ELDA ist an der Technischen Universität München (TUM) im Fachbereich Sport- und Gesundheitswissenschaften angesiedelt und bietet ein breites, interdisziplinäres wissenschaftliches Portfolio zu zahlreichen Themen der Sport- und Gesundheitswissenschaften.

10. Dezember 2021 // 11:45-13:00 MEZ

The importance of digital skills in healthcare

Dr. Armin Ritter// Fraunhofer Academy

Über dieses Seminar

Es ist kein Geheimnis, dass die Gesundheitssysteme in ganz Europa unter Druck stehen, ihre Leistungsfähigkeit zu entwickeln und wettbewerbsfähig zu bleiben. Digitale Technologien haben das Potenzial, die Art und Weise, wie wir Pflege leisten, zu verändern. Andere Branchen haben durch die Digitalisierung Produktivitätsgewinne von bis zu 20 % verzeichnet, aber die Gesundheitsversorgung muss diese Gewinne noch realisieren.

Einer der Gründe dafür ist der Mangel an digitalen Kompetenzen im Gesundheitswesen. Dieser Mangel an ausreichendem digitalen Wissen führt zu einer schlechten Akzeptanz neuer Technologien, die den erforderlichen Wandel mit sich bringen könnten. Es besteht ein dringender Bedarf an Weiterqualifizierung der Arbeitskräfte, und dies ist in der Pandemie noch dringender geworden. Fach- und Führungskräfte im Gesundheitswesen müssen in der Lage sein, innovativ zu sein, sich anzupassen und sich mit neuen Technologien und dem sich ändernden Tempo der Medizin zu beschäftigen. Das Transformative Digital Skills for Healthcare Training Programme adressiert diese Herausforderungen.

Unser Referent: Armin Ritter

 

Armin Ritter ist Wirtschaftspädagoge und Innovationsexperte. Schwerpunkt seiner Arbeit sind Innovationen in der beruflichen Bildung mit dem Ziel der Effektivität und Übertragung auf die Arbeitswelt. Armin leitet den Geschäftsbereich Corporate Learning der Fraunhofer Academy, der umfassende technologiegetriebene Qualifizierungs- und Umschulungsprogramme entwickelt und umsetzt. Vor seiner Tätigkeit bei Fraunhofer sammelte Armin umfangreiche Erfahrungen in komplexen Lean-Management- und Innovationsprojekten in der Luft- und Raumfahrt, Automobil- und Fertigungsindustrie. Als professioneller Moderator hat Armin Führungsteams im Industrie- und Bildungsbereich gecoacht.

21. Januar 2022 // 11:45-13:00 CET

Multidisciplinary Education and Self-management Counseling: Health in the XXI century

Prof. Dr. M. Cristina Polidori // Universitätsklinikum Köln

Über dieses Seminar

Der Begriff der functional ability steht für alle gesundheitsbezogenen Eigenschaften, die es dem Menschen ermöglichen, das zu sein und zu tun, was ihm wichtig ist. Sie wird sowohl von der Umwelt als auch von der intrinsischen Leistungsfähigkeit bestimmt, ein Begriff, der kürzlich von der WHO definiert wurde, um die Gesundheit älterer Menschen zu bewerten, indem er sich auf ihre körperlichen und geistigen Fähigkeiten konzentriert, die ihr Wohlbefinden ermöglichen. Der Erhalt der intrinsischen Leistungsfähigkeit gilt als zentrales Konzept eines einzigartigen demografischen Wandels, in dem die Weltbevölkerung vor zwei zentralen Herausforderungen steht: stetig steigende Lebenserwartung und Übergewicht. Diese Herausforderungen sind die vorherrschende Quelle des Krankheitsrisikos, wobei die meisten chronischen Erkrankungen weltweit mit lebensstilbedingten chronischen Erkrankungen in Verbindung gebracht werden – unter anderem Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen, Diabetes, Demenz, Krebs, Osteoporose. Sogar die SARS-Cov-2-Pandemie hat diese Bevölkerungsgruppe ganz anders getroffen als andere Pandemien der Vergangenheit: Die höchsten Sterblichkeitsraten von COVID-19 betreffen ältere und fettleibige Personen. Vor diesem Hintergrund ist Bildung in ihrer grundlegenden Bedeutung der Schlüssel zu einer wirksamen Solidarität im Sinne des lateinischen solidum, „ganze Summe“.

Dieses Seminar befasst sich intensiv mit den Herausforderungen, denen sich das Gesundheitswesen im 21. Jahrhundert weltweit gegenübersieht. Es erklärt die entscheidende Rolle, die Bildung bei der Antwort spielt, erläutert die grundlegenden Lücken, die Bildungsmaßnahmen schließen müssen, und erörtert die Dringlichkeit, Maßnahmen zu ergreifen und alle gesellschaftlichen Akteure zu befähigen, die intrinsischen Fähigkeiten im Anthropozän zu erhalten und die Menschheit auf die Welt nach 2050 vorzubereiten.

Unsere Referentin: M. Cristina Polidori

M. Cristina Polidori leitet die Forschungsgruppe für klinisches Altern und gehört zum Leitungsteam der neu eingerichteten Abteilung für Altersmedizin des Dpt. II der Inneren Medizin des Universitätsklinikums Köln. Hier ist Frau Dr. Polidori auch für die Lehre der Medizin des Altern und des alten Menschens zuständig, da sie sich auf Gerontologie und Geriatrie sowie auf Innere Medizin und Geriatrie spezialisiert hat. Sie ist ehemalige Fellow der Harvard University, des EU Marie-Curie Programme Quality of Life and Management of Living Resources und der Robert-Bosch Foundation. Seit 2014 ist sie Honorary Fellow des Royal College of Physicians of London für ihre Studien über gesunde Hundertjährige. Dr. Polidori ist Delegierter der International Federation on Aging, Mitglied des Scientific Committee von ProMoAge sowie Associate PI des Cologne Excellence Cluster on Cellular Stress- Responses in Aging- Associated Diseases (CECAD) und lokaler Koordinator des EIT Health Alternde Doktorandenschule. M. Cristina Polidori gehört zu den 2% der weltweit führenden Wissenschaftlerinnen auf ihrem Gebiet (PloS Biology 2020), wurde mit mehreren nationalen und internationalen Preisen als Herausgeberin und Autorin von über 140 relevantesten Büchern und Publikationen auf diesem Gebiet ausgezeichnet und hat ein h-Index von 44.

11. Februar 2022 // 11:45-13:00 CET

Challenges in Biopharmaceutical Production

Prof. Dr. Philipp Wiedemann  // Hochschule Mannheim

Über dieses Seminar

Biopharmazeutika, überwiegend rekombinante Proteine, sind noch eine relativ neue Arzneimittelklasse, deren erste Zulassungen bis in die späten 1980er Jahre zurückreichen. Dennoch haben sie beträchtliche Aufmerksamkeit erlangt – da sie erfolgreich schwere Indikationen wie z.B. Krebs – und sie gehören durchweg zu den am schnellsten wachsenden Pharmamarktsegmenten.

In diesem Vortrag werden wir einige allgemeine Prinzipien von Biopharmazeutika und ihrer Herstellung untersuchen und auf dieser Grundlage versuchen, einige der großen Herausforderungen und Veränderungen zu beleuchten, die dieses spannende und stark interdisziplinäre Gebiet derzeit durchmacht.

Unser Referent: Philipp Wiedemann

Philipp Wiedemann studierte Biologie an den Universitäten Bonn (Deutschland), York (UK) und Stanford (USA). Er erhielt einen Ph.D. in Molekularer Neuropharmakologie an der Universität Bonn. Philipp arbeitete für Biotech-Unternehmen im In- und Ausland, unter anderem in der Großproduktion von Biopharmazeutika. 2007 wechselte er an die Hochschule Mannheim, wo er sich auf Lehre und Forschung in den Bereichen Zellkulturtechnologie, Prozessüberwachung und Qualitätssicherung konzentriert. Darüber hinaus ist er wissenschaftlicher Berater des Biotech StartUp Aucteq GmbH.

13. Mau 2022 // 11:45-13:00 CET

Insights into building up an incubator and accelerator at the University of Cologne

Marc Kley // GATEWAY Start-up & Transfer// Excellence Start-up Center // University of Cologne

Über dieses Seminar

Das Gateway Excellence Start-up Center an der Universität zu Köln (UoC) wendet sich an Wissenschaftler und Studenten mit innovativen Ideen und ermutigt sie, ihre Erfindungen durch die Gründung eines eigenen Start-ups in Innovationen umzusetzen. Gateway begleitet angehende Start-ups während des gesamten Lebenszyklus von der ersten Idee oder Erfindung über ein Geschäftsmodell bis hin zur Ausgründung aus der Universität. Sogenannte „Transferscouts“ sind die Botschafter von Gateway an den sechs Fakultäten der UoC, die Arbeitsgruppen und Forschungscluster auf den Transfer von Gründungsideen überprüfen. Dies ist von besonderem Interesse für Forscher im Bereich der Biowissenschaften, d. h. in den Fakultäten für Medizin und Naturwissenschaften.

Unser Referent: Marc Kley

Marc Kley, Leiter des Gateway Excellence Start-up Centers, beleuchtet in seinem Vortrag die Arbeit der Transferscouts und zeigt auf, wie aus einer einfachen Idee mit Unterstützung der Mitarbeiter und der Infrastruktur von Gateway, wie z.B. Ideenwettbewerben, Inkubatoren oder einem Accelerator-Programm, ein nachhaltiges Spin-off werden kann. Mit zwanzig Jahren Erfahrung in der Unterstützung von Start-ups begann Marc 2011 an der Universität zu Köln zu arbeiten. Seit 2015 leitet er das Gateway, das 2019 öffentliche Mittel für den Aufbau eines „Exzellenz-Start-up-Zentrums“ erhält, um die gesamte Universität unternehmerischer zu machen und Wissenschaftlern, die an einer eigenen Gründung interessiert sind, eine breitere Unterstützung zu bieten.

Bildquelle

11. März 2022 // 11:45-13:00 CET

Dr. Dominik Schumacher // Gründer von Tubulis

Mit Antikörper-Wirkstoff-Konjugaten unternehmerisch tätig werden: Tubulis-Erfolgsrezept (endgültiger Titel TBC)

.

08. April 2022 // 11:45-13:00 CET

Dr. Jan Alexandersson // Deutsches Forschungszentrum für Künstliche Intelligenz

Maschinelles Lernen für das Gesundheitswesen // KI // Auswirkungen auf die Gesellschaft durch Beispiele (Endtitel TBC)

.

10. Juni 2022 // 11:45-13:00 CET

Prof. Dr. Jessica Lang // RWTH Aachen

Verbesserung der Gesundheitsergebnisse am Arbeitsplatz: Ergebnisse des Projekts „PsyHealth worXs“.

Jetzt registrieren:

Um die Einwahlinformationen zu erhalten, registrieren Sie sich einfach über diesen Eventbrite-Link.-Link.

Im Anschluss an die Reihe wird ein E-Booklet mit den Zusammenfassungen und Informationen der Referenten veröffentlicht. Die Teilnehmer können nach dem Video eine Aufzeichnung ihrer Sitzung erhalten und haben die Möglichkeit, ihr Feedback abzugeben.