News

Swiss start-up InCephalo AG receives EIT Health Gold Track grant

InCephalo AG has received the competitive EIT Health Gold Track grant to expand its compartment-locked technology to novel targets to fight brain cancers.

InCephalo AG, based in Switzerland, is a preclinical biotechnology company founded in 2021 by leading experts in the field of brain cancer. The company leverages its proprietary technology platform to develop compartment-locked (C-Locked) therapies that are tailor-made for local applications for brain cancer. InCephalo’s platform aims to deliver therapies to offer better response rates, more prolonged survival and improved quality of life to patients with brain cancer.

The currently obtained grant is financed by the Swiss State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI). This funding is part of the transitional measures for Horizon Europe, as Switzerland is currently treated as a non-associated third country in the EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation. The start-up would not have been able to overcome the hurdles of the non-association of Swiss companies to the Horizon programmes without the EIT Health Gold Track.

InCephalo graduated from the Gold Track programme in June 2022 and was awarded within our Grant-for-Option model. They clearly demonstrated the significant and outstanding progress made over the last 12 months, consolidating their potential to massively scale globally. We are honoured to contribute and participate in their future success via this grant,” says Dr. Kurt Höller, Director of Business Creation at EIT Health.

We are excited to receive this award as it further validates our technology platform and allows us to widen our pipeline,” says Dr Carlo Bertozzi, CEO and co-founder of InCephalo.

News

Schweizer Start-up InCephalo AG erhält EIT Health Gold Track grant

Die InCephalo AG hat den wettbewerbsfähigen EIT Health Gold Track Grant erhalten, um ihre Compartment-Locked-Technologie auf neuartige Targets zur Bekämpfung von Hirntumoren auszuweiten.

Die InCephalo AG mit Sitz in der Schweiz ist ein präklinisches Biotechnologieunternehmen, das 2021 von führenden Experten auf dem Gebiet des Hirntumors gegründet wurde. Das Unternehmen nutzt seine firmeneigene Technologieplattform, um Compartment-Locked (C-Locked) Therapien zu entwickeln, die für die lokale Anwendung bei Hirntumoren maßgeschneidert sind. Die Plattform von InCephalo zielt darauf ab, Therapien zu entwickeln, die Patienten mit Hirntumoren bessere Ansprechraten, ein längeres Überleben und eine bessere Lebensqualität bieten.

Der jetzt erhaltene Zuschuss wird vom Schweizer Staatssekretariat für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation (SBFI) finanziert. Diese Finanzierung ist Teil der Übergangsmaßnahmen für Horizon Europe, da die Schweiz im EU-Rahmenprogramm für Forschung und Innovation derzeit als nicht assoziiertes Drittland behandelt wird. Ohne den EIT Health Gold Track hätte das Start-up die Hürden der Nicht-Assoziierung von Schweizer Unternehmen an den Horizon-Programmen nicht überwinden können.

„InCephalo hat das Gold Track-Programm im Juni 2022 abgeschlossen und wurde im Rahmen unseres Grant-for-Option-Modells ausgezeichnet. Das Unternehmen hat die bedeutenden und herausragenden Fortschritte der letzten 12 Monate deutlich unter Beweis gestellt und damit sein Potenzial für eine massive globale Skalierung gefestigt. Wir fühlen uns geehrt, mit diesem Zuschuss zu ihrem zukünftigen Erfolg beizutragen“, sagt Dr. Kurt Höller, Director of Business Creation bei EIT Health.

„Wir freuen uns sehr über diese Auszeichnung, da sie unsere Technologieplattform weiter bestätigt und es uns ermöglicht, unsere Pipeline zu erweitern“, sagt Dr. Carlo Bertozzi, CEO und Mitbegründer von InCephalo.