Event

“Multidisciplinary Education and Self-management Counseling: Health in the XXI century” – Community and Education

January
21-21
Begin: 11:45-13:00 CET
Online

Multidisciplinary Education and Self-management Counseling: Health in the XXI century

Prof. Dr. M. Cristina Polidori // University Hospital of Cologne

Organised as monthly 1-hour-webinars, the ultimate goal of the seminar series “Community and Education in Action” is to assemble like-minded intellectuals and professionals from our community to trade ideas, thoughts, and views related to a specific EIT-Health topic especially focused in the Education Pillar.

 

Registration:

To receive the dial-in information, just register via this Eventbrite-Link.

After the series, an e-booklet will be published with the summaries and information of the speakers. Participants can receive a recording of their session after the Video and will have the opportunity to provide their feedback.

 

About this seminar:

The concept of functional ability represents all the health-related attributes that enable people to be and to do what they value. It is determined by the environment as well as by the intrinsic capacity, a term that was recently defined by the WHO to evaluate the health of older people by focusing on their physical and mental capacities that enable wellbeing. The maintenance of intrinsic capacity is recognized as the central concept of a unique demographic change in which the world population faces two key challenges: steadily increasing life expectancy and overweight. These challenges are the predominant source of disease risk, with most chronic disorders worldwide being associated with lifestyle-related chronic conditions – cardiovascular diseases, diabetes, dementia, cancer, osteoporosis among others. Even the SARS-Cov-2 pandemic showed to hit this population substantially different than the ones affected by other pandemics of the past: highest mortality rates of COVID-19 concern aged and obese persons. Considering this evidence, education in its fundamental meaning is key to effective solidarity, intended as the Latin solidum, “whole sum”.

This seminar takes a close look at the challenges, healthcare worldwide faces in the 21st century. It explains the crucial role that education plays in the response, expounds the fundamental gaps, education actions need to close, and discusses the urgency to take action and enable all the social actors to maintain intrinsic capacity in the Anthropocene and prepare humanity for the post-2050 world.

 

Our speaker: M. Cristina Polidori:

M. Cristina Polidori leads the Ageing Clinical Research group and belongs to the Management Team of the newly established Ward for Ageing Medicine at the Dpt. II of Internal Medicine of the University Hospital of Cologne. Here, Dr. Polidori is also responsible for the Teaching of Ageing Medicine and Medicine of the Aged as she is specialized in Gerontology and Geriatrics and in Internal Medicine and Geriatrics. She is a former Fellow of the Harvard University, of the EU Marie-Curie Programme Quality of Life and Management of Living Resources and of the Robert-Bosch Foundation. Since 2014 she is an Honorary Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians of London for her studies on healthy centenarians. Dr. Polidori is Delegate of the International Federation on Aging, member of the Scientific Committee of ProMoAge as well as Associate PI of the Cologne Excellence Cluster on Cellular Stress- Responses in Aging- Associated Diseases (CECAD), and local coordinator of the EIT Health Ageing PhD School. M. Cristina Polidori is listed among the 2% top world-ranked scientists in her field (PloS Biology 2020), has been awarded several national and international prizes as editor and author of over 140 most relevant books and publications in the field, and has an h-index of 44.

Event

„Multidisciplinary Education and Self-management Counseling: Health in the XXI century“ – Community and Education

Januar
21-21
Begin: 11:45-13:00 MEZ
Online

Multidisciplinary Education and Self-management Counseling: Health in the XXI century

Prof. Dr. M. Cristina Polidori // Universitätsklinikum Köln

Die Seminarreihe “Community and Education in Action”, die als monatliche 1-stündige Webinare organisiert ist, hat das Ziel, gleichgesinnte Intellektuelle und Fachleute aus unserer Community zu versammeln, um Ideen, Gedanken und Ansichten zu einem bestimmten EIT-Health-Thema auszutauschen, das im Zusammenhang mit dem Education Pillar steht.

 

Anmeldung:

Um die Einwahlinformationen zu erhalten, registrieren Sie sich einfach über diesen Eventbrite-Link.-Link.

Im Anschluss an die Reihe wird ein E-Booklet mit den Zusammenfassungen und Informationen der Referenten veröffentlicht. Die Teilnehmer können nach dem Video eine Aufzeichnung ihrer Sitzung erhalten und haben die Möglichkeit, ihr Feedback abzugeben.

 

Über dieses Seminar:

Der Begriff der functional ability steht für alle gesundheitsbezogenen Eigenschaften, die es dem Menschen ermöglichen, das zu sein und zu tun, was ihm wichtig ist. Sie wird sowohl von der Umwelt als auch von der intrinsischen Leistungsfähigkeit bestimmt, ein Begriff, der kürzlich von der WHO definiert wurde, um die Gesundheit älterer Menschen zu bewerten, indem er sich auf ihre körperlichen und geistigen Fähigkeiten konzentriert, die ihr Wohlbefinden ermöglichen. Der Erhalt der intrinsischen Leistungsfähigkeit gilt als zentrales Konzept eines einzigartigen demografischen Wandels, in dem die Weltbevölkerung vor zwei zentralen Herausforderungen steht: stetig steigende Lebenserwartung und Übergewicht. Diese Herausforderungen sind die vorherrschende Quelle des Krankheitsrisikos, wobei die meisten chronischen Erkrankungen weltweit mit lebensstilbedingten chronischen Erkrankungen in Verbindung gebracht werden – unter anderem Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen, Diabetes, Demenz, Krebs, Osteoporose. Sogar die SARS-Cov-2-Pandemie hat diese Bevölkerungsgruppe ganz anders getroffen als andere Pandemien der Vergangenheit: Die höchsten Sterblichkeitsraten von COVID-19 betreffen ältere und fettleibige Personen. Vor diesem Hintergrund ist Bildung in ihrer grundlegenden Bedeutung der Schlüssel zu einer wirksamen Solidarität im Sinne des lateinischen solidum, „ganze Summe“.

Dieses Seminar befasst sich intensiv mit den Herausforderungen, denen sich das Gesundheitswesen im 21. Jahrhundert weltweit gegenübersieht. Es erklärt die entscheidende Rolle, die Bildung bei der Antwort spielt, erläutert die grundlegenden Lücken, die Bildungsmaßnahmen schließen müssen, und erörtert die Dringlichkeit, Maßnahmen zu ergreifen und alle gesellschaftlichen Akteure zu befähigen, die intrinsischen Fähigkeiten im Anthropozän zu erhalten und die Menschheit auf die Welt nach 2050 vorzubereiten.

 

Unsere Referentin: M. Cristina Polidori

M. Cristina Polidori leitet die Forschungsgruppe für klinisches Altern und gehört zum Leitungsteam der neu eingerichteten Abteilung für Altersmedizin des Dpt. II der Inneren Medizin des Universitätsklinikums Köln. Hier ist Frau Dr. Polidori auch für die Lehre der Medizin des Altern und des alten Menschens zuständig, da sie sich auf Gerontologie und Geriatrie sowie auf Innere Medizin und Geriatrie spezialisiert hat. Sie ist ehemalige Fellow der Harvard University, des EU Marie-Curie Programme Quality of Life and Management of Living Resources und der Robert-Bosch Foundation. Seit 2014 ist sie Honorary Fellow des Royal College of Physicians of London für ihre Studien über gesunde Hundertjährige. Dr. Polidori ist Delegierter der International Federation on Aging, Mitglied des Scientific Committee von ProMoAge sowie Associate PI des Cologne Excellence Cluster on Cellular Stress- Responses in Aging- Associated Diseases (CECAD) und lokaler Koordinator des EIT Health Alternde Doktorandenschule. M. Cristina Polidori gehört zu den 2% der weltweit führenden Wissenschaftlerinnen auf ihrem Gebiet (PloS Biology 2020), wurde mit mehreren nationalen und internationalen Preisen als Herausgeberin und Autorin von über 140 relevantesten Büchern und Publikationen auf diesem Gebiet ausgezeichnet und hat ein h-Index von 44.