Integrated Personalized Diabetes Management Goes Europe:
iPDM-GO

Did you know?

  • Diabetes affects approximately 58 million European citizens,1
  • In 2017, around 477.000 deaths were attributed to diabetes in Europe alone,1
  • In 2017 the estimated total healthcare costs for diabetes in Europe exceeded 160 billion US dollars,1
  • By 2045, it is estimated that 67 million people in Europe will have diabetes,1

iPDM-GO Mission

By delivering integrated personalised diabetes management (iPDM) our primary goal is to positively impact the lives of people living with type 2 diabetes. Through the development and delivery of personalized solutions and services we strive to support diabetes self-management and improve citizens’ quality of life. Furthermore, we believe that iPDM-GO can serve as a proof-of-concept for other chronic diseases, as we aim to realize outcomes-orientated healthcare in Europe.

What is iPDM-GO?

 

 

Integrated personalised diabetes management (iPDM) is a therapeutic approach that structures the diabetes treatment process, connects healthcare professionals and patients, and integrates digital tools that visualise and analyse data.2,3 As such, iPDM is a process that supports healthcare professionals and their patients in their joint decision making. The iPDM concept consists of six steps (Figure)

The iPDM-GO consortium will implement iPDM in a Danish community setting with the goal of laying the groundwork for expanding to additional European countries. This scaling process will be guided by an international multi-stakeholder advisory board and include a thorough health systems analysis.

In parallel, the iPDM-GO consortium will develop a novel patient-assessment tool to enhance iPDM and personalize treatment to the specific needs and requirements of the individual person with diabetes. The tool will be co-created in a user-centric design process that considers early input from relevant stakeholders. Additionally, iPDM-GO will use machine learning methodologies to explore new opportunities for leveraging Big Data resources. We will also develop effective educational programs for healthcare professionals to learn about the key factors of success when implementing iPDM.

Importantly, to contribute to the transformation of healthcare from volume-based to value-based, iPDM-GO will develop a healthcare transformation toolkit that supports the implementation of value-based healthcare in European countries based on the iPDM process.

Find out more about the concepts underlying iPDM and how they feed into iPDM-GO by checking out our new eLearning module here.

 

A Digital Transition – Our Three-Year Plan

With everyday life becoming increasingly digital, we aim to be at the forefront of the digital healthcare shift, bringing iPDM as a change maker to the diabetes landscape. In this respect, iPDM takes a modern digital approach to diabetes treatment that makes it easier for patients to communicate with their treating physicians

In the next three years iPDM-GO will:

  • Leverage the opportunities provided by true co-creation considering all stakeholders
  • Enable personalized and patient-centric diabetes care
  • Offer an opportunity to implement value-based healthcare
  • Empower patients to make better-informed choices built on their individual treatment needs and personal preferences
  • Help doctors make better-informed therapy choices based on the needs of the individual patient

Achievements to date


In total 25 members of the consortium met in Copenhagen for two days to informally get to know each other, align on workplans and discuss administrative tasks. Each work package leader presented a detailed plan for the current and future project periods.

January 2019: iPDM-GO consortium kick off meeting

iPDM-GO consortium member Professor Freimut Schliess published a blog post on the connections between digital diabetes management and EIT Health

February 2019: Blog post on Digital Health

The iPDM-GO medical education strategy will primarily focus on the interdisciplinary team of healthcare professionals and young professionals developing innovative technologies and services. Highlights of the plan include:

  • A design thinking workshop delivered in collaboration with the European Molecular Biology Laboratory (Year 2)
  • A satellite symposium at an international diabetes congress (Year 2 or 3)
  • A train the trainer program for the multidisciplinary team of HCPs (Year 3)

Our ambition is to ensure that these activities are not only of the highest quality, but also help raise awareness of the project, the involved partners and EIT Health itself.

June 2019: iPDM-GO educational strategy completed

Our Advisory Board consisting of ten experts in the field of diabetes, patient care and disease management met at the IDF Europe offices to discuss their involvement in the execution of iPDM-GO. One of the key takeaways of the initial meeting was to shortlist key markets in Europe and then develop a list of indicators to analyse the countries on a micro-level.

 

July 2019: First iPDM-GO Advisory Board meeting held in Brussels

Two iPDM-GO abstracts have been acceptedfor presentation at scientific conferences. Dr. Allan Jones will present the overall iPDM-GO project at the EMBO Workshop “Precision Health: Molecular Basis, Technology and Digital Health” in Heidelberg (November 13-16) while Dr. Laila Starr will present our health-economic approach at the upcoming “ISPOR Europe” congress in Copenhagen (November 2-6).

 

August 2019: iPDM-GO abstracts accepted

Dr. Allan Jones presented iPDM-GO to leadership members of approximately 35 EIT Health industry partners in Amsterdam. The project was presented under the heading “How can we innovate together with payers and healthcare providers to deliver cost-effective interventions that deliver better health outcomes for patients?”

September 2019: iPDM-GO presented at the EIT Health Industry Round table

Our iPDM-GO Advisory Board

The iPDM-GO multi-stakeholder Advisory Board comprises healthcare professionals, patients, private and public payers  as well as leading researchers in value-based healthcare and integrated care. The Advisory Board is coordinated by the International Diabetes Federation’s European chapter (IDF Europe). The group meets twice per year and provides input regarding the implementation of iPDM in a value-based healthcare setting.

Why is it an EIT Health project?

iPDM-GO is in keeping with the EIT Health Focus Area of “Care Pathways”, because it seeks to improve care, by making it more results-oriented. The project also aligns with the Focus Area of “Bringing Care Home”, because it encourages an approach that allows people with diabetes to do more to take care of themselves.

 

EIT Health Partners in this project

External Partners

  • Region Sjælland
  • City of Copenhagen (Københavns Kommune)

Key Publications to Date

 

Primary publications

 

Posters

Your main contact

Dr. Allan Jones

Roche Diabetes Care Deutschland GmbH

References

  1. International Diabetes Federation. IDF Diabetes Atlas, 8th edn. Brussels, Belgium:
    International Diabetes Federation, 2017. http://www.diabetesatlas.org
  2. Heinemann L et al. Benefit of Digital Tools Used for Integrated Personalized Diabetes Management: Results From the PDM-ProValue Study Program. J Diabetes Sci Technol. (2019)
  3. Kulzer B et al. Integrated personalized diabetes management improves glycemic control in patients with insulin-treated type 2 diabetes: Results of the PDM-ProValue study program.Diabetes Res Clin Pract. (2018)

Integrated Personalized Diabetes Management Goes Europe:
iPDM-GO

Schon gewußt?

  • Diabetes betrifft rund 58 Millionen Bürger in Europa1
  • Im Jahr 2017 sind allein in Europa rund 477.000 Todesfälle auf Diabetes zurückzuführen1
  • Im Jahr 2017 überstiegen in Europa die geschätzten Gesamtkosten für Diabetes 160 Milliarden US-Dollar1
  • Bis 2045 werden schätzungsweise 67 Millionen Menschen in Europa an Diabetes leiden1

Die Mission von iPDM-GO

Durch die Bereitstellung eines integrierten personalisierten Diabetes-Managements (iPDM) ist es unser vorrangiges Ziel, das Leben von Menschen mit Typ-2-Diabetes positiv zu beeinflussen. Durch die Entwicklung und Bereitstellung personalisierter Lösungen und Dienstleistungen möchten wir das Diabetes-Selbstmanagement unterstützen und die Lebensqualität der Bürger verbessern. Darüber hinaus glauben wir, dass iPDM-GO als Proof-of-Concept für andere chronische Krankheiten dienen kann, da wir eine ergebnisorientierte Gesundheitsversorgung in Europa verwirklichen wollen.

Was ist iPDM-GO?

 

 

Integriertes personalisiertes Diabetes-Management (iPDM) ist ein therapeutischer Ansatz, der den Diabetes-Behandlungsprozess strukturiert, Pflegepersonal und Patienten miteinander verbindet, indem digitale Tools zur Visualisierung und Analyse von Daten genutzt werden.2,3  So unterstützt iPDM Patienten und deren Angehörige sowie das betreuende Pflegepersonal in ihrer gemeinsamen Entscheidungsfindung im Rahmen der Behandlung. Das iPDM-Konzept besteht aus sechs Schritten (Abbildung).

Das iPDM-GO-Konsortium wird iPDM in einer Testphase in der Region Seeland (Dänemark) implementieren, um die Grundlage für die Expansion in weitere europäische Länder zu schaffen. Dieser Skalierungsprozess wird von einem internationalen Multi-Stakeholder-Beirat geleitet und beinhaltet eine gründliche Analyse der Gesundheitssysteme. Parallel dazu wird das iPDM-GO-Konsortium ein neuartiges Instrument zur Patientenbewertung entwickeln, um iPDM zu verbessern und die Behandlung an die spezifischen Bedürfnisse und Anforderungen einzelner Diabetiker anzupassen.

Das Tool wird in einem benutzerzentrierten Entwurfsprozess entwickelt, bei dem frühzeitig Input von relevanten Stakeholdern berücksichtigt wird. Darüber hinaus wird iPDM-GO mithilfe von Methoden des maschinellen Lernens neue Möglichkeiten für die Nutzung von Big-Data-Ressourcen evaluieren. Ein weiteres Ziel ist es, wirksame Schulungsprogramme für Pflegepersonal zu entwickeln, um hier die Schlüsselfaktoren für den Erfolg bei der Implementierung von iPDM kennenzulernen. Wichtig ist, dass iPDM-GO ein Toolkit zur qualitativen Transformation der Pflege im Bereich Diabetesmanagement entwickelt, das die Implementierung einer wertbasierten Gesundheitsversorgung in europäischen Ländern auf der Grundlage des iPDM-Prozesses unterstützt.

Ein digitaler Wandel – unser Dreijahresplan

 

Da das Alltagsleben immer digitaler wird, möchten wir bei der digitalen Gesundheitsversorgung eine Vorreiterrolle einnehmen und iPDM als Motor der Innovation im Bereich des modernen Diabetesmanagements integrieren. In dieser Hinsicht verfolgt iPDM einen zeitgemäßen digitalen Ansatz zur Behandlung von Diabetes, der es den Patienten massiv erleichtert, mit ihren behandelnden Ärzten und Pflegepersonal zu kommunizieren.

 

In den nächsten 3 Jahren wird iPDM-GO...

  • alle Möglichkeiten nutzen, die eine gemeinsame Weiterentwicklung des Projektes unter Einbeziehung aller Beteiligten bietet.
  • eine personalisierte und patientenorientierte Diabetesversorgung ermöglichen
  • die Chancen nutzen, eine wertorientierte Gesundheitsversorgung für Diabetespatienten in Europa zu implementieren
  • Diabetespatienten ermöglichen, fundiertere Entscheidungen zu treffen, die auf ihren individuellen Behandlungsbedürfnissen und persönlichen Vorlieben beruhen
  • Ärzten helfen, fundiertere Therapieentscheidungen zu treffen, die auf den Bedürfnissen des einzelnen Patienten basieren

Erfolge bis heute...


Insgesamt trafen sich 25 Mitglieder des Konsortiums für zwei Tage in Kopenhagen, um sich informell kennenzulernen, die gemeinsamen Arbeitspläne abzustimmen und administrative Aufgaben zu besprechen. Es wurden detaillierte Pläne für den aktuellen und zukünftigen Projektzeitraum vorgelegt.

Januar 2019: Kick-Off Meeting des iPDM-GO Konsortiums

iPDM-GO-Konsortiumsmitglied Prof. Freimut Schliess veröffentlichte einen Blogbeitrag über die Zusammenarbeit zwischen digitalem Diabetes-Management und EIT Health

Februar 2019: Blog post in 'Digital Health'

Die Strategie für die medizinische Ausbildung von iPDM-GO konzentriert sich in erster Linie auf das interdisziplinäre Team von Fachleuten des Gesundheitswesens, die innovative Technologien und Dienstleistungen entwickeln. Highlights des Plans sind:

  • Ein Design Thinking Workshop in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Europäischen Labor für Molekularbiologie (2. Jahr)
  • Ein Symposium (als Satelliten-Event) auf einem internationalen Diabetes-Kongress (2. oder 3. Jahr)
  • Ein Training für das multidisziplinäre HCP-Team (3. Jahr)

Unser Ziel ist es, sicherzustellen, dass diese Aktivitäten nicht nur qualitativ hochwertig sind, sondern auch dazu beitragen, das Bewusstsein für das Projekt, die beteiligten Partner und EIT Health selbst zu stärken.

Juni 2019: iPDM-GO-Bildungsstrategie abgeschlossen

Unser Beirat, bestehend aus zehn Experten aus den Bereichen Diabetes, Patientenversorgung und Krankheitsmanagement, traf sich in den Büros von IDF Europe, um ihre Beteiligung an der Umsetzung von iPDM-GO zu erörtern. Einer der wichtigsten Aspekte des ersten Treffens bestand darin, die wichtigsten Zielmärkte in Europa in die engere Auswahl zu nehmen und anschließend eine Liste mit Indikatoren zu erstellen, um diese Märkte auf Landesebene zu analysieren.

 

Juli 2019: Erste Sitzung des iPDM-GO-Beirats in Brüssel

Zwei iPDM-GO-Abstracts wurden zur Präsentation auf wissenschaftlichen Konferenzen angenommen: Dr. Allan Jones wird das gesamte iPDM-GO-Projekt auf dem EMBO-Workshop „Precision Health: Molekulare Basis, Technologie und digitale Gesundheit“ in Heidelberg (13.-16. November) vorstellen, während Dr. Laila Starr auf dem Kongress „ISPOR Europe“ in Kopenhagen (2.-6. November) unseren gesundheitsökonomischen Ansatz vorstellen wird.

 

August 2019: iPDM-GO Abstracts angenommen

Dr. Allan Jones präsentierte iPDM-GO Führungsmitgliedern von ungefähr 35 Industriepartnern von EIT Health in Amsterdam. Das Projekt wurde unter der Überschrift „Wie können wir gemeinsam mit Kostenträgern und Gesundheitsdienstleistern Innovationen entwickeln, um kostengünstige Interventionen für bessere Gesundheitsergebnisse für Patienten bereitzustellen?“ vorgestellt.

September 2019: iPDM-GO-Präsentation auf dem EIT Health Industry Round Table

Das iPDM-GO Advisory Board

Der Multi-Stakeholder-Beirat von iPDM-GO setzt sich aus Angehörigen der Gesundheitsberufe, Patienten, privaten und öffentlichen Kostenträgern sowie führenden Forschern im Bereich der wertorientierten Gesundheitsversorgung und integrierten Versorgung zusammen. Der Beirat wird vom European Chapter der International Diabetes Federation (IDF Europe) koordiniert. Die Gruppe tritt zweimal im Jahr zusammen und liefert Beiträge zur Implementierung von iPDM in einem wertorientierten Gesundheitsumfeld.

Warum ist dieses Projekt ein EIT Health-Projekt?

iPDM-GO steht im Einklang mit der EIT Health Focus Area „Care Pathways“, da es darauf abzielt, die Pflege zu verbessern, indem diese ergebnisorientierter gestaltet wird. Das Projekt folgt auch nach dem EIT Health Schwerpunkt „Bringing Care Home“, da es einen Ansatz fördert, der es Menschen mit Diabetes ermöglicht, mehr für sich selbst zu tun.

Erfahren Sie mehr über die Konzepte, auf denen iPDM aufbaut und wie sie in das iPDM-GO einfließen: Nutzen Sie unser neues eLearning-Modul.

 

EIT Health Projekt-Partner

Externe Partner

  • Region Sjælland
  • Kopenhagen (Københavns Kommune)

Wichtige bisherige Veröffentlichungen

 

Hauptpublikationen

 

Poster

Kontakt

Dr. Allan Jones

Roche Diabetes Care Deutschland GmbH

Quellen

  1. International Diabetes Federation. IDF Diabetes Atlas, 8th edn. Brussels, Belgium:
    International Diabetes Federation, 2017. http://www.diabetesatlas.org
  2. Heinemann L et al. Benefit of Digital Tools Used for Integrated Personalized Diabetes Management: Results From the PDM-ProValue Study Program. J Diabetes Sci Technol. (2019)
  3. Kulzer B et al. Integrated personalized diabetes management improves glycemic control in patients with insulin-treated type 2 diabetes: Results of the PDM-ProValue study program.Diabetes Res Clin Pract. (2018)