EIT Health Germany
Innovation

Innovation Projects –
ideas turn into products and services

Innovation projects are thematically addressing the greatest societal health challenges that EIT Health intends to address with its strong network. The aim is to achieve rapid market penetration of innovative projects and services and to test and implement novel organizational provision processes in European healthcare.

The most promising ideas are developed through a multidisciplinary approach involving commercial, medical, IT and other knowledge areas into commercially viable products.

 

Our current Innovations Projects at a glance

Partners in this project:

 

More information on iPDM-GO can be found on this  website .

 

iPDM-GO

Diabetes mellitus represents a major and multi-dimensional challenge for humanity. In 2017, the International Diabetes Federation (IDF) estimated that there are approximately 425 million people with diabetes worldwide, and their numbers continue to rise. Therefore, providing cost-effective healthcare services tailored to the individual needs and needs of each patient is crucial.

Integrated Personalized Diabetes Management Goes Europe (iPDM-GO) is committed to solving this problem. It is a therapeutic approach that structures the treatment process, connects HCPs and patients, and integrates digital data visualization and analysis tools.

Partners in this project:

 

ADAPT – Airway Disease Analysis and Prevention

Inflammatory respiratory diseases are often diagnosed too late. Every year, respiratory diseases in the EU are responsible for 600,000 deaths and 6 million hospital visits, as well as social costs of 200 billion euros. ADAPT combines two innovations to develop a novel diagnostic kit that allows earlier and more accurate assessment of inflammatory airways disease, allowing better intervention and personalized treatment.

Partners in this project:

 

   

ASSES – Retinal Phase Contrast Imaging for Early Diagnosis

More than 28 million people in Europe are visually impaired due to retinal diseases. The current diagnosis is based on the identification of a large-scale change in the retina, which is usually recognized by conventional ophthalmological instruments only when the patient has already suffered irreversible vision loss. ASSESS is developing a revolutionary system that enables rapid, non-invasive imaging of patients’ retinal cells. Early diagnosis of retinal diseases, one of the main causes of blindness, can improve the treatment and increase the chances of prevention.

Partners in this project:

 

External Project Partner:
Trier University of Applied Sciences

CLAIRE

CLAIRE develops an “Alexa with a PhD”, an innovative virtual healthcare assistant to address one of the main challenges in today’s intensive care units: Medical knowledge and data increases each day – doctors and nurses spend 50% of their day in front of computer screens instead of interacting with the patients. CLAIRE ‘s virtual medical assistant combines state-of-the-art advances of Machine Learning, Natural Language Processing and Artificial Intelligence with an intuitive human interface to support doctors and nurses at the Intensive Care Unit with documentation, disease detection and accurate, evidence- based treatment.

Partners in this project:

 

 

 

More information on CLOSE can be found on this website .

CLOSE – Automated Glucose Control at Home for People with Chronic Disease

Automated Insulin Delivery also known as artificial pancreas (AP) is approaching a “technical cure” for diabetes. CLOSE is putting the AP in the center of comprehensive product and service packages (APplus) for persons with type 2 diabetes, complementing the device by offering obligatory trainings as well as telemedicine consultations on demand. Outcome predictors and performance indicators shall help to identify people who could most benefit from AP usage and facilitate the measurement of AP impact in diabetes care. Using a co-creation approach, CLOSE is going to develop superior risk-benefit and cost-benefit scenarios for AP operation in type 2 diabetes, thereby achieving positive acceptance by users and caregivers and a high eligibility for reimbursement. Following the initial launch of APplus in France CLOSE will scale up the business along the lines of geography, target groups, AP enhancement and care environments.

Partners in this project:

Flu diagnosis – Transforming influenza management in Europe

This project aims to improve the inefficient influenza care pathway and overcome additional post approval obstacles hindering widespread adoption of a new solution. An unique (cobas® Liat®) laboratory-based testing methodology into an easy-to-use and compact solution to allow medical care at the “bedside” for patients at risk of influenza (“flu”). The addition of the Liat® to the clinical pathway will reduce hospital admissions and potentially the rate of transmission of the disease, unnecessary antibiotic prescribing for viral infection and flu-associated morbidity and mortality from secondary bacterial infections.The project will generate the clinical and economic evidence necessary to support decision-making and expanded rollout of the technology, in order to rapidly accelerate access to the latest diagnostic technology and improve flu-related outcomes for patients.

Partners in this project:

 

 

More information on FRAIL can be found on this  website

FRAIL – Frailty Assessment in Daily Living

The identification and assessment of frailty in the treatment of the elderly is essential to tailoring geriatric interventions to the needs of individuals. The currently available instruments for assessing individual frailty, which require time-consuming screening processes, are difficult to apply in primary care. FRAIL is a smartwatch app development project that supports older people who are in a frail state. The app monitors falls, physical activity and disruption of routine activities to detect the onset of frailty and avoid its consequences on the wearer.

Partners in this project:

 

HomeCare @ COPD RAS-Q: Bringing Care Home for COPD Patients

Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) is a progressive, life-threatening lung disease characterized by respiratory distress and coughing. There are 250 million COPD patients worldwide, and it is the fourth most common cause of death, responsible for 3 million deaths per year. HomeCare @ COPD will enhance intensive care at home for people with lung disease by providing patients with insight into RAS-Q, the so-called “Lung In A Backpack” – the world’s first portable ventilation device for long-term COPD treatment, that was developed with support of EIT Health.

Partners in this project:

 

MARNIE – Merging Augmented Reality and Neurostimulation to improve Enacting

Each year, more than 1 million EU citizens suffer from a stroke, and up to 30% suffer from homonymous hemianopia (HH), a complex visuomotor deficit caused by a stroke in the visual cortex and associated with the loss of a visual half-field . MARNIE helps treat visuomotor deficiencies that cause problems with eye-hand coordination in patients after a stroke. A new therapy is used that combines augmented reality goggles with low-power stimulation of the skull to train the brain.

Partners in this project:

 

NEOSPECT -Adoptive transfer of neoantigen-specific T cells

Over the last decade, groundbreaking research into understanding the immune system and unlocking its anti-tumor potential has led to adoptive cell therapies with the potential to eliminate tumors that resist conventional and targeted therapies. It has been demonstrated that T cell responses to mutated peptide ligands that serve as neoantigens on cancer cells mediate anti-tumor responses. NEOSPECT will revolutionize cancer treatment by combining two novel clinical concepts: adoptive cell therapy and the targeted treatment of tumor-specific neoantigens. This combination will allow patient-specific T cell products to be clinically produced in a cost-effective, safe and automated process.

Partners in this project:

 

SEIZEIT2 -Discrete Personalized Epileptic Seizure Detection Device

More than 50 million people worldwide suffer from epilepsy, making it one of the most common neurological diseases worldwide. Inaccurate seizure messages pose a major challenge to diagnosing and treating people with epilepsy. SeizeIT2 is a clinically accurate seizure detection system for people with epilepsy. This discrete portable device monitors multiple biosignals to provide a more accurate quantitative analysis of seizure activity so that people with epilepsy can receive optimized treatment for their specific condition.

Partners in this project:

 

 

More information on RealWorld4Clinic can be found on this website .

Listening to the gut – RealWorld4Clinic

Affairs around the effectiveness, costs & market availability of drugs challenge the public confidence in pharma industry and treatments and impact healthcare sustainability. A key underlying cause is the limited usage of real-world information in both drug development and disease management. The shortage of real-world data limits the predictive power of clinical trials and the prevention of emergency hopsitalization in heart failure management.

RealWorld4Clinic will accelerate market launch of MyHeartSentinel – a coin-sized medical device anchored to the fundus of the stomach. There it acquires real-life cardio-respiratory health data for exploitation in drug development and tele-cardiology. The device will be enriched by patforms for patient communication and personal data lifecycle management. RealWorld4Clinic initially targets the clinical trial market which is considered the stepping stone towards outpatient cardiological care – the RealWorld4Clinic priority market.

Partners in this project:

R2U-POC-Tox – Ready-to-use point-of-care toxicity assay

Drug-induced cardiac and neuronal toxicities represent major complications in the daily clinical routine and are the major cause for attrition during early drug development and post market withdrawal. Since conventional drug screenings rely on in vivo and in vitro animal models with limited translational capacity, there is an urgent need for translational assays, which are able to predict drug-induced toxicities in humans in a robust and reliable manner. The R2U Tox Assay project aims to push the limits of medical care with an innovative approach that will strengthen the healthcare system as a whole.The reliable detection of drug-induced toxicities with high-quality, ready-to-use toxicity assays at a moderate price will have an immediate impact on the patient’s health by averting potentially fatal and costly side effects.

Open calls: 

There are currently no open calls. The Business Plan 2021 Call ended on July 8th, 2020.

FAQs for Partners

Do you have any questions about the current EIT Health Business Plan, the application, training or deadlines? Here you will find answers to the most important questions about your partnership with EIT Health Germany.

What are the goals of Innovation Projects?

Innovation Projects aim at (1) the rapid market penetration of innovative products and services, and / or (2) the testing and implementation of novel organizational and healthcare delivery processes . 

What is the maximum funding cap per Innovation Project?

The maximum EIT available funding is € 1 million per year per project for a maximum duration of 36 months. 

The maximum EIT available funding is €1 million per year per project for a maximum duration of 36 months.

EIT Health Innovation Projects support innovative approaches in biotech, medtech and digital health that have left the phase of ground research and heading towards market approval and first customers.  

As a support, we recommend making use of the CIMIT Innovation Maturity Level (IML) that measures the maturity of an innovation on four dimensions:  

  • Technology 
  • Regulatory 
  • Market / business 
  • Clinical validation 

Ideally, you should have reached a “proof of concept” level for all four dimensions. Find further information here: https://cimit.org/documents/173804/228699/Navigating+the+HealthTech+Innovation+Cycle.pdf/2257c90b-d90b-3b78-6dc9-745db401fbc6?version=1.0  

 

How many partners do I need to build an eligible consortium?

All innovation project proposals must involve Core or Associate Partners from a minimum of two CLC / InnoStars . The consortium must i nclude at least one academic and one non-academic Core or Associate Partner, ie one partner of the type “Education” or “Research” and one of any other type. 

 

Where can I find a list of EIT Health partners and an overview of partner types?

You will find a list here: www.eithealth.eu/partners  

What if I would like to collaborate with an organization that is not (yet) partner of EIT Health?

You can include External Project Partners that are not EIT Health Core or Associate Partners , eg start-ups and SMEs. The maximum funding for External Project Partners is 50,000 EUR / year. 

What is the financing model of a project?

For an EIT Health Innovation Project, you will be able to incur (pre) existing costs of the development of your innovation. These costs are called “KIC complementary activities (KCA)”. The funding ratio for 25% EIT funding (= “KIC Added-Value Activity (KAVA)”) versus 75% funding of other resources (eg other public grants, in- house resources etc.). In general, EIT accepts costs from 2015 and / or in parallel to the duration of the project.  

Example: If you ask for 3M € EIT funding for your Innovation Project, you will have to demonstrate 9M € costs covered by other resources.  

Where do I submit my proposal?

All proposals need to be submitted on the EIT Health online platform PLAZA: www.plaza.eithealth.eu  

Please make sure that all your consortium partners have individual PLAZA accounts. You will need to add them to the work packages and budget lines in the proposal. Otherwise they will not be able to receive EIT funding.  

How much time should I spend to finalize my proposal in PLAZA?

If you are a newbie to PLAZA, please reserve at least two full days . O ne day would help to familiarize yourself with the logic of connecting work packages, costs and KPIs / outputs / deliverables. The second day will be needed to enter the details into the system.  

What kind of support can I get from the German CLC to submit a proposal for an Innovation Project?

The German CLC supports Innovation Projects from an early project ideation phase until the final submission and evaluation phase.  

The support includes for example: 

  • Project scouting and feedback on project ideas 
  • Transformation of a project idea into an EIT Health application 
  • Project coaching (eg on evaluation criteria) 
  • Matchmaking with other partners 
  • Proposal review (intensive coaching p eriod two weeks before the deadline) 
  • Hearing training 

 

 

 

Do you have any further questions? I will be happy to inform you about your opportunities to participate in an EIT Health innovation project and assist you in brainstorming, networking with relevant EIT Health partners, submitting an application and in all further steps of your innovation project within the framework of the EIT Health Business plan.

Nandor Gaus

Innovation & Project Manager
+49 621 764 461-18

Janine Meyer

Innovation Project Manager
+49 621 764 461-22

EIT Health Germany
Innovation

Innovationsprojekte –
aus Ideen werden Produkte und Dienstleistungen

Innovationsprojekte befassen sich thematisch mit den größten gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen im Bereich Gesundheit, denen EIT Health mit seinem starken Netzwerk begegnen will. Ziel ist es, eine rasche Marktdurchdringung innovativer Projekte und Dienstleistungen zu erreichen und neuartige organisatorische Bereitstellungsprozesse im europäischen Gesundheitswesen zu erproben und umzusetzen.

Die vielversprechendsten Ideen werden durch einen multidisziplinären Ansatz unter Einbeziehung von Wirtschaft, Medizin, IT und anderen Wissensgebieten zu kommerziell nutzbaren Produkten entwickelt.

Partner in diesem Projekt:

 

 

Mehr Information zu iPDM-GO finden Sie auf dieser Webseite

 

iPDM-GO

Diabetes Mellitus stellt eine große und mehrdimensionale Herausforderung für die Menschheit dar. Im Jahr 2017 schätzte die International Diabetes Federation (IDF), dass es weltweit rund 425 Millionen Menschen mit Diabetes gibt, deren Zahl weiter steigt. Daher ist es von entscheidender Bedeutung, kosteneffiziente Gesundheitsdienstleistungen anzubieten, die auf die individuellen Bedürfnisse und Anforderungen jedes Patienten zugeschnitten sind.
Integrated Personalized Diabetes Management Goes Europe (iPDM-GO), ist bestrebt, dieses Problem zu lösen. Es handelt sich um einen therapeutischen Ansatz, der den Behandlungsprozess strukturiert, HCPs und Patienten verbindet und digitale Werkzeuge zur Visualisierung und Analyse von Daten integriert.

Partner in diesem Projekt:

 

ADAPT – Airway Disease Analysis and Prevention

Entzündliche Atemwegserkrankungen werden oft zu spät diagnostiziert. Jedes Jahr sind Atemwegserkrankungen in der EU für 600 000 Todesfälle und 6 Millionen Krankenhausbesuche sowie Kosten in Höhe von 200 Milliarden Euro verantwortlich. ADAPT kombiniert zwei Innovationen um ein neuartiges Diagnosekit zu entwickeln, das eine frühere und genauere Beurteilung entzündlicher Atemwegserkrankungen ermöglicht und so eine bessere Intervention und personalisierte Behandlung ermöglicht.

Partner in diesem Projekt

 

   

ASSES – Retinal Phase Contrast Imaging for Early Diagnosis

Mehr als 28 Millionen Menschen in Europa sind aufgrund von Netzhauterkrankungen sehbehindert. Die aktuelle Diagnose basiert auf der Identifizierung einer großflächigen Veränderung der Netzhaut, die von herkömmlichen ophthalmologischen Instrumenten in der Regel erst erkannt wird, wenn der Patient bereits einen irreversiblen Sehverlust erlitten hat. ASSESS entwickelt ein revolutionäres System, das eine schnelle, nicht-invasive Bildgebung der Netzhautzellen von Patienten ermöglicht. Durch die frühzeitige Diagnose von Netzhauterkrankungen, einer der Hauptursachen für Erblindung, kann die Innovation die Behandlung verbessern und die Möglichkeiten der Prävention erhöhen.

Partner in diesem Projekt

 

 

Externer Projekt Partner:
Universität Trier

CLAIRE

CLAIRE entwickelt eine „Alexa mit einem Doktortitel“, eine innovative virtuelle Assistentin für das Gesundheitswesen, um eine der größten Herausforderungen auf den heutigen Intensivstationen zu bewältigen: Das medizinische Wissen und die Daten nehmen täglich zu – Ärzte und Krankenschwestern verbringen 50% ihres Tages vor Computerbildschirmen anstatt mit den Patienten zu interagieren. Der virtuelle medizinische Assistent von CLAIRE kombiniert die neuesten Erkenntnisse des maschinellen Lernens, der Verarbeitung natürlicher Sprache und der künstlichen Intelligenz mit einer intuitiven Benutzeroberfläche, um Ärzte und Krankenschwestern auf der Intensivstation mit Dokumentation, Krankheitserkennung und präziser, evidenzbasierter Behandlung zu unterstützen .

Partner in diesem Projekt:

 

 

Mehr Informationen zu CLOSE finden Sie auf dieser Webseite.

 

CLOSE

Die künstliche Bauchspeicheldrüse (Artificial Pancreas, AP) nähert sich einer „technischen Heilung“ von Diabetes, indem sie den Glukosespiegel misst und mit Hilfe eines Algorithmus die richtige Insulinmenge für den Patienten bestimmt.  CLOSE strebt danach, die Versorgung und Lebensqualität von Patienten mit Typ-2-Diabetes zu verbessern, indem es die AP mit entsprechenden Produkt- und Servicepaketen zur Schaffung von AP+ verbessert. Durch Hinzufügen von Training (Train-the-Trainer), telemedizinischer Beratung und Tools zur Ergebnisprognose und Leistungsmessung zu den APs wird CLOSE die Wirksamkeit der AP sowie die Erstattungsfähigkeit erhöhen.

 

Partner in diesem Projekt:

Flu Diagnosis – Neues Influenza-Management in Europa

Dieses Projekt zielt darauf ab, den ineffizienten Influenza-Versorgungspfad zu verbessern und zusätzliche Hindernisse, die einer breiten Einführung einer neuen Lösung im Wege stehen, zu überwinden. Die (cobas® Liat®) laborbasierte Testmethodik in eine einfach zu verwendende und kompakte Lösung, um die medizinische Versorgung von Patienten mit Influenza-Risiko am Krankenbett zu ermöglichen. Die Ergänzung des klinischen Pfades durch Liat® wird die Krankenhauseinweisungen und die potentielle Übertragungsrate der Krankheit, die unnötige Verschreibung von Antibiotika bei Virusinfektionen sowie eine damit verbundene Morbidität und Mortalität durch bakterielle Sekundärinfektionen verursacht, reduzieren. Das Projekt wird die klinischen und wirtschaftlichen Beweise generieren, die zur Unterstützung der Entscheidungsfindung und der erweiterten Einführung der Technologie notwendig sind, um den Zugang zu den neuesten Diagnosetechnologien rasch zu beschleunigen und die mit einer Grippeerkrankung verbundenen Auswirkungen für die Patienten zu verbessern.

 

Partner in diesem Projekt:

 

 

Mehr Information zu FRAIL finden Sie auf dieser Webseite

FRAIL – Frailty Assessment in Daily Living

Die Identifizierung und Bewertung der Gebrechlichkeit bei der Behandlung alter Menschen ist unerlässlich, um geriatrische Interventionen auf die Bedürfnisse des Einzelnen abzustimmen. Die derzeit verfügbaren Instrumente zur Beurteilung individueller Gebrechlichkeit, die zeitaufwändige Screeningprozesse erfordern, sind in der Grundversorgung schwer anwendbar. FRAIL ist ein Projekt zur Entwicklung einer Smartwatch-App, die ältere Menschen unterstützt, die sich in einem gebrechlichen Zustand befinden. Die App überwacht Stürze, körperliche Aktivität und Unterbrechung von Routinetätigkeiten, um den Beginn der Gebrechlichkeit zu erkennen und deren Folgen bei den Trägern zu vermeiden.

Partner in diesem Projekt:

 

HomeCare@COPD  RAS-Q: Bringing Care Home for COPD Patients

Die chronisch obstruktive Lungenerkrankung (COPD) ist eine progressive, lebensbedrohliche Lungenerkrankung, die durch Atemnot und Husten gekennzeichnet ist. Weltweit gibt es 250 Millionen COPD-Patienten, und sie ist die vierthäufigste Todesursache, die für 3 Millionen Todesfälle pro Jahr verantwortlich ist. HomeCare@COPD wird die Intensivpflege zu Hause für Menschen mit Lungenerkrankungen verbessern, indem es die Erkenntnisse der Patienten zur Verbesserung von RAS-Q der sogenannten „Lunge im Rucksack“ – dem weltweit ersten tragbaren Beatmungshilfsgerät zur langfristigen COPD-Behandlung, das mit Unterstützung von EIT Health entwickelt wurde, nutzt.

Partner in diesem Projekt:

 

MARNIE – Merging Augmented Reality and Neurostimulation to improve Enacting

Jedes Jahr erkranken mehr als 1 Million EU-Bürger an einem Schlaganfall, und bis zu 30 % leiden an homonymer Hemianopie (HH), einem komplexen visuomotorischen Defizit, das durch einen Schlaganfall im visuellen Kortex verursacht wird und mit dem Verlust eines visuellen Halbfelds verbunden ist. MARNIE hilft bei der Behandlung von visuomotorischen Defiziten, die Probleme bei der Auge-Hand-Koordination bei Patienten nach einem Schlaganfall verursachen. Eingesetzt wird eine neue Therapie, die eine ‚Augmented-Reality-Brille‘ mit einer Schwachstrom-Stimulation des Schädels kombiniert, um das Gehirn zu trainieren.

Partner in diesem Projekt:

 

NEOSPECT -Adoptive transfer of neoantigen-specific T cells

In den letzten zehn Jahren hat bahnbrechende Forschung zum Verständnis des Immunsystems und zur Erschließung seines Anti-Tumor-Potenzials zu adoptiven Zelltherapien mit dem Potenzial geführt, Tumore zu beseitigen, die herkömmlichen und zielgerichteten Therapien widerstehen. Es wurde nachgewiesen, dass T-Zell-Reaktionen gegen mutierte Peptidliganden, die als Neoantigene auf Krebszellen dienen, die Anti-Tumor-Reaktionen vermitteln. NEOSPECT  wird die Krebsbehandlung revolutionieren, indem es zwei neuartige klinische Konzepte kombiniert: die adoptive Zelltherapie und die gezielte Behandlung von tumorspezifischen Neoantigenen. Diese Kombination wird es ermöglichen, patientenspezifische T-Zell-Produkte in einem kostengünstigen, sicheren und automatisierten Prozess klinikreif herzustellen.

Partner in diesem Projekt:

 

SEIZEIT2 -Discrete Personalized Epileptic Seizure Detection Device

Mehr als 50 Millionen Menschen weltweit leiden an Epilepsie, die damit eine der häufigsten neurologischen Erkrankungen weltweit ist. Ungenaue Anfallsmeldungen stellen die Diagnose und Behandlung von Menschen mit Epilepsie vor große Herausforderungen. SeizeIT2 ist ein klinisch genaues Anfallserkennungssystem für Menschen mit Epilepsie. Dieses diskrete tragbare Gerät überwacht mehrere Biosignale, um eine genauere quantitative Analyse der Anfallsaktivität zu ermöglichen, so dass Menschen mit Epilepsie eine für ihren spezifischen Zustand optimierte Behandlung erhalten können.

Partner in diesem Projekt:

RealWorld4Clinic

Offene Fragen rund um die Wirksamkeit, Kosten und Marktverfügbarkeit von Medikamenten stellen das Vertrauen der Öffentlichkeit in die Pharmaindustrie und Behandlungen in Frage und wirken sich auf die Nachhaltigkeit des Gesundheitswesens aus. Eine der Hauptursachen dafür ist die begrenzte Nutzung von verfügbaren Daten aus der ‚realen Welt‘ sowohl in der Arzneimittelentwicklung als auch im Krankheitsmanagement. Der Mangel an realen Daten schränkt die Vorhersagekraft klinischer Studien und damit die Qualität einer notwendigen frühen Entscheidungsfindung in der Arzneimittelentwicklung ein – was zu hohen Ausfallraten und sogar zur Rücknahme von Medikamenten vom Markt führt. RealWorld4Clinic wird die Markteinführung eines münzgroßen, am Magenfundus verankerten Medizinproduktes beschleunigen. Dort erfasst es reale kardiorespiratorische Gesundheitsdaten für die Nutzung in der Medikamentenentwicklung und Telekardiologie. Der Markt für klinische Studien wird das Sprungbrett in die ambulante kardiologische Versorgung sein. Das Gerät wird durch Fernüberwachung und Datenauswertung, Training und Ausbildung sowie Tools zur Ergebnisvorhersage und Leistungsmessung angereichert werden.

 

Partner in diesem Projekt:

R2U-POC-Tox – Gebrauchsfertiger Point-of-Care-Toxizitätstest

Arzneimittel-induzierte kardiale und neuronale Toxizitäten stellen im klinischen Alltag große Komplikationen dar und sind die Hauptursache für Probleme während einer frühen Medikamentenentwicklung und nach der Markteinführung. Da konventionelle Wirkstoff-Screenings auf in vivo- und in vitro-Tiermodellen mit begrenzter Translationskapazität beruhen, besteht ein dringender Bedarf an translationalen Assays, die in der Lage sind, medikamenteninduzierte Toxizitäten beim Menschen robust und zuverlässig vorherzusagen. Das R2U-Tox-Assay-Projekt zielt darauf ab, die Grenzen der medizinischen Versorgung mit einem innovativen Ansatz zu erweitern, der das Gesundheitssystem als Ganzes stärken soll. Der zuverlässige Nachweis von drogeninduzierten Toxizitäten mit hochwertigen, gebrauchsfertigen Toxizitätstests zu einem moderaten Preis wird sich unmittelbar auf die Gesundheit des Patienten auswirken, indem potenziell tödliche und kostspielige Nebenwirkungen abgewendet werden.

 

FAQs für Partner

Haben Sie noch Fragen zum aktuellen EIT Health Business Plan, zur Antragstellung, zu Trainings oder Fristen? Hier finden Sie Antworten auf die wichtigsten Fragen rund um Ihre Zusammenarbeit mit EIT Health Germany.

 

Was sind die Ziele von Innovationsprojekten?

Innovationsprojekte zielen auf (1) die schnelle Marktdurchdringung innovativer Produkte und Dienstleistungen und/oder (2) die Erprobung und Implementierung neuartiger organisatorischer und gesundheitlicher Lieferprozesse ab.

Wie hoch ist die maximale Förderobergrenze pro Innovationsprojekt?

Die maximal verfügbaren Mittel des EIT belaufen sich auf 1 Million Euro pro Jahr und Projekt für eine maximale Laufzeit von 36 Monaten.

Wann kann ich ein EIT Health Innovationsprojekt starten?

Die EIT Health Innovation Projects unterstützen innovative Ansätze in den Bereichen Biotech, Medtech und digitale Gesundheit, die die Phase der Bodenforschung verlassen haben und auf dem Weg zur Marktzulassung und zu ersten Kunden sind.
Als Unterstützung empfehlen wir den Einsatz des CIMIT Innovation Maturity Level (IML), der die Reife einer Innovation in vier Dimensionen misst:

  • Technologie
  • Regulatorisches
  • Markt/Geschäft
  • Klinische Validierung

Im Idealfall sollten Sie für alle vier Dimensionen eine „proof of concept“-Ebene erreicht haben. Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier: https://cimit.org/documents/173804/228699/Navigating+die+HealthTech+Innovation+Cycle.pdf/2257c90b-d90b-d90b-3b78-6dc9-745db401fbc6?version=1.0

Wie viele Partner brauche ich, um ein geeignetes Konsortium aufzubauen?

An allen Vorschlägen für Innovationsprojekte müssen Core oder Associate Partner von mindestens zwei CLC/InnoStars beteiligt sein. Das Konsortium muss mindestens einen akademischen und einen nicht-akademischen Kern- oder Associate Partner umfassen, d.h. einen Partner aus dem Bereich „Bildung“ oder „Forschung“ und einen weiteren Partner.

Wo finde ich eine Liste der EIT Health Partner und deren Klassifizierung?

Eine Liste finden Sie unter diesem Link: www.eithealth.eu/partners

Was passiert, wenn ich mit einer Organisation zusammenarbeiten möchte, die (noch) nicht Partner von EIT Health ist?

Sie können externe Projektpartner einbeziehen, die keine EIT Health Core oder Associate Partner sind, z.B. Startups und KMU. Die maximale Förderung für externe Projektpartner beträgt 50.000 EUR / Jahr.

Wie sieht das Finanzierungsmodell eines Projekts aus?

Für ein EIT Health Innovation Projekt können Sie (vor)bestehende Kosten für die Entwicklung Ihrer Innovation übernehmen. Diese Kosten werden als „KIC komplementäre Aktivitäten (KCA)“ bezeichnet. Die Finanzierungsquote für die 25%ige EIT-Förderung (= „KIC Added-Value Activity (KAVA)“) gegenüber 75% der Finanzierung anderer Ressourcen (z.B. andere öffentliche Zuschüsse, interne Ressourcen etc.). Im Allgemeinen übernimmt das EIT die Kosten ab 2015 und/oder parallel zur Projektlaufzeit.
Beispiel: Wenn Sie für Ihr Innovationsprojekt eine EIT-Finanzierung in Höhe von 3 Mio. € beantragen, müssen Sie 9 Mio. € Kosten nachweisen, die durch andere Ressourcen gedeckt sind.

Wo kann ich meinen Proposal für ein Innovationsprojekt einreichen?

Alle Anträge müssen auf der Online-Plattform PLAZA von EIT Health eingereicht werden: plaza.eithealth.eu
Bitte stellen Sie sicher, dass alle Ihre Konsortiumspartner über individuelle PLAZA-Konten verfügen. Sie müssen diese den ‚work packages‘ und ‚budget lines‘ in Ihrem Proposal hinzufügen. Andernfalls können sie keine Mittel des EIT erhalten.

Wie viel Zeit sollte ich aufwenden, um meinen Vorschlag in PLAZA fertigzustellen?

Wenn Sie PLAZA-Neuling sind, reservieren Sie bitte mindestens zwei volle Tage. Ein Tag würde helfen, sich mit der Logik der Verknüpfung von Arbeitspaketen, Kosten und KPIs/Outputs/Lieferungen vertraut zu machen. Der zweite Tag wird benötigt, um die Details in das System einzugeben.

Welche Unterstützung kann ich vom deutschen CLC erhalten, um einen Antrag für ein Innovationsprojekt einzureichen?

Das deutsche CLC unterstützt Innovationsprojekte von der frühen Projektidee bis zur endgültigen Einreichung und Bewertung.
Der Support umfasst zum Beispiel:

  • Projektscouting und Feedback zu Projektideen
  • Umsetzung einer Projektidee in eine EIT Health Anwendung
    Projektcoaching (z.B. zu Bewertungskriterien)
  • Matchmaking mit anderen Partnern
  • Antragsprüfung (intensives Coaching zwei Wochen vor dem Termin)
  • Hearingtraining

 

 

Haben Sie noch weitere Fragen? Gerne informiere ich Sie über Ihre Möglichkeiten der Teilnahme an einem EIT Health Innovationsprojekt und begleite Sie bei der Ideenfindung, der Vernetzung mit für Sie relevanten EIT Health Partnern, bei der Antragstellung und bei allen weiteren Schritten Ihres Innovationsprojektes im Rahmen des EIT Health Business Plans.

Nandor Gaus

Innovation & Project Manager
+49 621 764 461-18