News

Three challenges announced for Start-ups Meet Healthcare Providers 2021

Applications for the programme are open until 3 September 2021.

Recognising the potential benefits for technological innovation in healthcare, we are excited to announce that the applications for our new programme Start-ups Meet Healthcare Providers are officially open! The Start-ups Meet Healthcare Providers is a challenge-based accelerator programme that aims to bring to the table novel ideas that improve the practice of health care and scalable solutions that create transformational change for the field. This year three healthcare providers, Children’s University Hospital Latvia, University Hospital Centre Sisters of Charity and Diakonie Baden-Württemberg released challenges and we are now accepting applications until 3 September 2021.

Challenges for 2021

Challenge 1: Integrating solutions into systems such as TI, eGK, ePA and ensuring approval as a medical device as well as integration into mainstream care, sponsored by the Diakonisches Werk of the Protestant Church in Baden-Württemberg.

The telematics infrastructure (TI), which connects all players in the healthcare system, continues to gain momentum and become more complex. In this context, the secure exchange of information across sectors and systems as well as the long term protection of sensitive data plays a central role. The ideal solution is a tool that allows the communication and handling of data between the different players, fulfilling the necessary medical and regulatory standards. Diakonie Baden is looking for innovative solutions, e.g. apps on prescription or similar health apps that can be approved as a medical device in several (partial) products according to MDR and integrated into standard care via reimbursement.

Challenge 2: Online interaction space for communities of patients and their families as part of an online children’s health ecosystem, sponsored by Children’s University Hospital Latvia. 

Online health communities are rapidly increasing their presence and relevance in the healthcare setting. If built and used in the correct way, they can offer an efficient way to collect information on unmet medical or social needs, highlight shared problems in specific groups, facilitate patient engagement or help in opinion-forming, among others. The ideal solution would provide a secure digital communication space for families, patients, and other stakeholders (for example Patient and Family councils) in relation to different diseases, health interests, etc. and ideally also the collection of information regarding their needs.

Challenge 3: Tools to identify, monitor and optimize patients’ medication adherence, sponsored by University Hospital Centre Sisters of Charity.

Failure to adhere to prescribed medication regimens is one of the principal reasons patients don’t achieve the expected outcomes from their treatment. According to the 2003 World Health Organization (WHO) report on medication adherence, among patients suffering from chronic diseases in developed countries, adherence averages only 50%. This challenge is looking for an innovative tool, technology solution (e.g. pillboxes, inhalers, injection pens, tracking devices), or applications for identifying, monitoring and optimizing patients’ adherence and feedback to the physician.

A full description of the challenges is available here.

Programme details

Structure

The program consists of four different modules with the objective to train and prepare startups to discuss collaboration opportunities with pharma companies.

  • Module 1 (11-15/10/2021): 5 days “Entrepreneurship & Market Access Training”. Start-ups will receive tailored workshops on different tools and methods to successfully build their business.
  • Module 2 (25-29/10/2021): 5 days of workshops by healthcare providers involved in the programme on how to collaborate with big players in the market.
  • Module 3 (22-26/11/2021): Start-ups will visit selected healthcare providers involved in the programme to discuss collaboration opportunities.
  • Module 4 (November 2021): Demo Day. Start-ups pitch in front of healthcare providers representatives, investors, EIT Health partners, stakeholders.

Eligibility

You should have a company with a validated proof of concept, market validation and prototype that matches one of the challenges released by the pharma companies. Your company must be based in any Horizon Europe country.

Application

Application period: 1 June – 3 September 2021, 23:59 CET via Optimy platform.

Webinars

Join us for an informative webinar to learn more about the Start-Ups Meet Healthcare Providers programme, including timelines and the selection process.

  • 1 September 2021 (11:00 AM CET) – Register here.

The recording from the first webinar is available here.

News

Diese drei Challenges erwarten Innovatoren bei Start-ups Meet Healthcare Providers 2021

Bewerbungen für das Programm sind bis zum 3. September 2021 möglich.

Technologische Innovationen im Gesundheitswesen bergen etliche potenzielle Vorteile. Daher freuen wir uns, verkünden zu dürfen, dass die Bewerbungen für unser neues Programm Start-ups Meet Healthcare Providers offiziell geöffnet sind! Start-ups Meet Healthcare Providers ist ein auf Challenges basierendes Accelerator-Programm, mit dem Ziel, neuartige Ideen zur Verbesserung der Gesundheitsversorgung und skalierbare Lösungen auf den Tisch zu bringen, die einen transformativen Wandel für das Feld bewirken. In diesem Jahr haben drei Gesundheitsdienstleister, das Kinderuniversitätskrankenhaus Lettland, das Universitätsklinikum Sisters of Charity und die Diakonie Baden-Württemberg Herausforderungen veröffentlicht. Bewerbungen werden ab sofort und bis zum bis zum 3. September 2021 entgegengenommen.

 

Challenges für 2021

Challenge 1: Integration von Lösungen in Systeme wie TI, eGK, ePA und Sicherstellung der Zulassung als Medizinprodukt sowie Integration in die Regelversorgung, gefördert durch das Diakonische Werk der Evangelischen Kirche Baden-Württemberg.

Die Telematikinfrastruktur (TI), die alle Akteure des Gesundheitswesens verbindet, gewinnt weiter an Dynamik und wird komplexer. Dabei spielt der sichere Austausch von Informationen über Branchen und Systeme hinweg sowie der langfristige Schutz sensibler Daten eine zentrale Rolle. Die ideale Lösung ist ein Tool, das die Kommunikation und den Umgang mit Daten zwischen den verschiedenen Akteuren ermöglicht und die notwendigen medizinischen und regulatorischen Standards erfüllt. Die Diakonie Baden sucht nach innovativen Lösungen, z.B. Verschreibungspflichtige Apps oder ähnliche Gesundheits-Apps, die in mehreren (Teil-)Produkten nach MDR als Medizinprodukt zugelassen und über Kostenerstattung in die Regelversorgung integriert werden können.

 

Challenge 2: Online-Interaktionsraum für Gemeinschaften von Patienten und ihren Familien als Teil eines Online-Ökosystems für die Kindergesundheit, gesponsert vom Children’s University Hospital Latvia. 

Online-Gesundheitscommunities steigern ihre Präsenz und Relevanz im Gesundheitswesen rapide. Richtig aufgebaut und eingesetzt, können sie unter anderem eine effiziente Möglichkeit bieten, Informationen über unerfüllte medizinische oder soziale Bedürfnisse zu sammeln, gemeinsame Probleme in bestimmten Gruppen hervorzuheben, die Patienteneinbindung zu erleichtern oder bei der Meinungsbildung zu helfen. Die ideale Lösung wäre ein sicherer digitaler Kommunikationsraum für Familien, Patienten und andere Interessengruppen (zB Patienten- und Familienräte) in Bezug auf verschiedene Krankheiten, Gesundheitsinteressen usw. und idealerweise auch die Sammlung von Informationen zu ihren Bedürfnissen.

 

Challenge 3: Tools zur Identifizierung, Überwachung und Optimierung der Medikamenteneinhaltung von Patienten, gesponsert vom University Hospital Centre Sisters of Charity.

Die Nichteinhaltung verordneter Medikamente ist einer der Hauptgründe dafür, dass Patienten nicht die erwarteten Ergebnisse ihrer Behandlung erzielen. Laut dem Bericht der Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO) aus dem Jahr 2003 über die Medikamenteneinnahme liegt die Therapietreue bei Patienten mit chronischen Erkrankungen in Industrieländern bei durchschnittlich nur 50 %. Bei dieser Herausforderung wird ein innovatives Tool, eine Technologielösung (z. B. Pillendosen, Inhalatoren, Injektionspens, Tracking-Geräte) oder Anwendungen zur Identifizierung, Überwachung und Optimierung der Patientenadhärenz und des Feedbacks an den Arzt gesucht.

Eine vollständige Beschreibung der Challenges finden Sie hier.

 

Programmdetails

Struktur

Das Programm besteht aus vier verschiedenen Modulen mit dem Ziel, Startups dafür zu schulen und vorzubereiten, Kooperationsmöglichkeiten mit Pharmaunternehmen zu diskutieren.

  • Modul 1 (11.-15.10.2021): 5 Tage „Entrepreneurship & Market Access Training“. Start-ups erhalten maßgeschneiderte Workshops zu verschiedenen Tools und Methoden, um ihr Geschäft erfolgreich aufzubauen.
  • Modul 2 (25.-29.10.2021): 5-tägige Workshops von am Programm beteiligten Gesundheitsdienstleistern zur Zusammenarbeit mit großen Playern auf dem Markt.
  • Modul 3 (22.-26.11.2021): Start-ups besuchen ausgewählte Gesundheitsdienstleister, die am Programm beteiligt sind, um Kooperationsmöglichkeiten zu diskutieren.
  • Modul 4 (November 2021): Demo Day. Start-ups pitchen vor Vertretern von Gesundheitsdienstleistern, Investoren, EIT Health-Partnern und Stakeholdern.

 

Berechtigung

Sie sollten ein Unternehmen mit einem validierten Proof of Concept, einer Marktvalidierung und einem Prototyp haben, der einer der Herausforderungen der Pharmaunternehmen entspricht. Ihr Unternehmen muss in einem beliebigen Land von Horizon Europe ansässig sein.

 

Bewerbung

Bewerbungszeitraum: 1. Juni – 3. September 2021, 23:59 Uhr MEZ über Optimy platform.

 

Webinar

Nehmen Sie an unserem informativen Webinar teil, um mehr über das Programm Start-Ups Meet Healthcare Providers einschließlich der Stichtage und des Auswahlverfahrens zu erfahren.

1. September 2021 (11:00 Uhr MEZ) – Registrieren Sie sich hier.

Die Aufzeichnung des ersten Webinars vom Juli ist hier verfügbar.