Start-ups Meet Pharma 2022

Start-ups Meet Pharma 2022

The Start-ups Meet Pharma is a challenge-based acceleration program focused on selecting the most promising health start-ups and scale-ups matching the corporate partners’ innovation needs, to deliver solutions that address quality and affordable healthcare for European patients. In 2022, we are enabling unparalleled exposure to industry executives and decision-makers at Novartis,  Boehringer Ingelheim, Sintetica and Takeda through one-to-one pitch sessions, support, value proposition development and partnership exploration.

If you are developing innovative technologies and services representing potential solutions for the selected challenges for 2022, submit your application now!

Programme structure

  • Module 1 “Meet and Learn” (2-6/05/2022, Online): Up to 15 workshops by top-notch speakers on different tools and methods to successfully build your company.
  • Module 2 “Meet and Pitch” (07-17/06/2022, Online): Up to 5-hour of workshops by pharma partners on how to collaborate with big players in the market and 1-on-1 pitch sessions.
  • Module 3 “Meet and Visit” (4-8/07/2022, Online/pharma companies’ premises): Up to 2-hour visit to the premises of the pharma partners and meeting internal decision-makers to discuss collaboration opportunities.
  • Module 4 “Meet and Win” (September 2022): 15 minutes pitch in front of external pharma company representatives and for some extra visibility.

What will you get?

  • One-on-one access to industry executives through pitch sessions, value proposition development and partnership exploration.
  • Personalized coaching to help you develop your entrepreneurial, business and pitching skills.
  • Corporate insights on how leading pharma companies make innovation work for their organisations.
  • Increase awareness of your start-up´s solution among decision-makers from European pharma companies.
YouTube

By loading the video, you agree to YouTube’s privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Previous sponsors

Challenge #1

The global prevalence of Chronic Kidney disease is around 9% and is often underrecognized by patients and clinicians. Diagnosis, staging and appropriate referral of CKD patients by primary care physicians are important elements in reducing the burden of the disease. Boehringer Ingelheim is looking for a digital diagnostic support tool that aids the diagnosis of new CKD patients; flags the unrecognized CKD patients – especially those with high risk for progression; and could be integrated with the daily workflow of GPs.

Challenge #2

People living with rare diseases are often faced with challenges to obtain a correct diagnosis, and hence treatment. Takeda calls for digital health solutions that could improve or optimize the care and referral pathway for people with rare diseases to gain access to relevant laboratory testing to enable diagnosis and treatment decisions. There is a particular interest for solutions that could be applied to improve testing for Thrombotic thrombocytopenic purpura (TTP), which is an ultra-rare, life-threatening blood disorder.

Challenge #3

Sintetica is looking for innovative solutions in pain management, related to chronic pain but also to pain treatment in general, that could improve patients’ lives. These solutions could include but are not limited to: new types of pharmacological treatment, novel drug delivery routes, medical devices, digital approaches. There is a particular interest in the field of neuromodulation which is an expanding area of pain medicine that incorporates an array of non-invasive, minimally invasive, and surgical electrical therapies.

Challenge #4

Novartis is looking for a proven solution or platform that can support integrated care pathway (screening & diagnosis / identify patient, automate referral, treatment activation and follow-up) including any digital health interventions (e.g., behavior change / psychosocial aid/adherence) to optimize patient outcome (QoL, morbidity/mortality, productivity), reduce disease burden and minimize avoidable human resource utilization.

Webinars

Interested start-ups are kindly invited to participate in our upcoming webinars aimed to provide a detailed overview of the programme, its timeline, and the application process.

  • 9 February 2022, 11:00 AM CET (Register here)
  • 9 March 2022, 11:00 AM CET (Register here)

Looking back at Startups Meet Pharma 2021: 5 challenges | 5 partners | 18 start-ups

In 2021 we partnered with five pharma companies: Abbott, Takeda, Merck, Amgen and AstraZeneca, to jointly organize the Start-ups Meet Pharma programme. During the programme, we have selected 18 start-ups that address the challenges pharma companies face with operational products and services. In 2021 the programme resulted in 4 NDAs signed, 3 pilot projects and 2 R&D projects in development.

Looking back at Startups Meet Pharma 2020: 5 challenges | 4 partners | 16 start-ups

In 2020, five challenges were released in collaboration with four EIT Health Partners: Amgen, Bayer, Beiersdorf and Boehringer Ingelheim. Over the course of 6 months, 16 start-ups from 15 different countries worked intensely with our key pharma partners over workshops, trainings, and 1-on-1 meetings. The results: 3 signed NDAs, 4 pilots currently in the planning phase, with their kick-off foreseen for early 2021, 2 applications to the EIT Health investor network and an open invitation for further engagement.

Startups Meet Pharma 2019 | 5 challenges | 5 partners | 14 start-ups

In the 2019 edition of the Startups Meet Pharma programme, startups that were developing digital solutions with an impact on both the pharmaceutical industry and patients were invited to tackle five challenges by Bayer, UCB, Johnson & Johnson, Amgen and Ferrer. Find out more about the programme and read more about Pilloxa’s experience in SMP 2019 in the interview with the founder and CEO, Francesco Mazzotta.

YouTube

By loading the video, you agree to YouTube’s privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Contact

Bojana Trajkovska

Entrepreneurship Lead
+49 163 92 61 073

Start-ups Meet Pharma 2022

Start-ups Meet Pharma 2022

Start-ups Meet Pharma ist ein auf Herausforderungen basierendes Beschleunigungsprogramm, das sich darauf konzentriert, die vielversprechendsten Start-ups und Scale-ups im Gesundheitsbereich auszuwählen, die den Innovationsanforderungen der Unternehmenspartner entsprechen, um Lösungen für eine hochwertige und erschwingliche Gesundheitsversorgung für europäische Patienten zu entwickeln. Im Jahr 2022 ermöglichen wir einen einmaligen Kontakt zu Führungskräften und Entscheidungsträgern von Novartis, Boehringer Ingelheim, Sintetica und Takeda durch persönliche Pitch-Sitzungen, Unterstützung, Entwicklung von Wertvorstellungen und Sondierung von Partnerschaften.

Wenn du innovative Technologien und Dienstleistungen entwickelst, die potenzielle Lösungen für die ausgewählten Herausforderungen des Jahres 2022 darstellen, bewirb dich jetzt!

Aufbau des Programms

  • Modul 1 „Meet and Learn“ (2-6/05/2022, Online): Bis zu 15 Workshops mit hochkarätigen Referenten zu verschiedenen Tools und Methoden für den erfolgreichen Aufbau Ihres Unternehmens.
  • Modul 2 „Meet and Pitch“M (07-17/06/2022, Online): Bis zu 5 Stunden voll Workshops unserer Pharmapartner über die Zusammenarbeit mit den größten Unternehmen auf dem Markt sowie 1-zu-1-Sessions.
  • Modul 3 „Meet and Visit“ (4-8/07/2022, Online/Firmensitze Pharmaunternehmen): Die Start-ups besuchen die Räumlichkeiten der Pharmapartner und treffen sich mit internen Entscheidungsträgern, um Möglichkeiten der Zusammenarbeit zu erörtern.
  • Modul 4 „Meet and Win“ (September 2022): Start-ups pitchen 15 Minuten vor externen Vertretern von Pharmaunternehmen und erhalten zusätzliche Sichtbarkeit.

Was wirst du bekommen?

  • Persönlicher Zugang zu Führungskräften der Branche durch Pitch-Sitzungen, Entwicklung von Wertangeboten und Erkundung von Partnerschaften.
  • Persönliches Coaching, um deine unternehmerischen und geschäftlichen Fähigkeiten sowie deine Pitching-Fähigkeiten zu entwickeln.
  • Einblicke in Unternehmen, wie führende Pharmaunternehmen Innovationen für ihre Organisationen nutzen.
  • Steigerung des Bekanntheitsgrads der Lösung deines Start-ups bei Entscheidungsträgern europäischer Pharmaunternehmen.
YouTube

By loading the video, you agree to YouTube’s privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Bisherige Sponsoren

Herausfordeung #1

Die weltweite Prävalenz der chronischen Nierenerkrankung liegt bei etwa 9 % und wird von Patienten und Ärzten häufig nicht erkannt. Diagnose, Stadieneinteilung und angemessene Überweisung von CKD-Patienten durch Hausärzte sind wichtige Elemente, um die Belastung durch die Krankheit zu verringern. Boehringer Ingelheim sucht nach einem digitalen Diagnosetool, das die Diagnose neuer CKD-Patienten unterstützt, unerkannte CKD-Patienten – insbesondere solche mit hohem Progressionsrisiko – kennzeichnet und in den täglichen Arbeitsablauf von Hausärzten integriert werden kann.

Herausforderung #2

Menschen, die mit seltenen Krankheiten leben, stehen oft vor der Herausforderung, eine korrekte Diagnose und damit eine Behandlung zu erhalten. Takeda ruft zu digitalen Gesundheitslösungen auf, die den Versorgungs- und Überweisungsweg für Menschen mit seltenen Krankheiten verbessern oder optimieren könnten, um Zugang zu relevanten Labortests zu erhalten, die Diagnose- und Behandlungsentscheidungen ermöglichen. Besonderes Interesse besteht an Lösungen, die zur Verbesserung der Tests für die thrombotische Thrombozytopenische Purpura (TTP) eingesetzt werden könnten, eine äußerst seltene, lebensbedrohliche Blutkrankheit.

Herausforderung #3

Sintetica ist auf der Suche nach bahnbrechenden und innovativen Lösungen für die Schmerzbehandlung, sowohl für chronische Schmerzen als auch für die Schmerzbehandlung im Allgemeinen, die das Leben der Patienten verbessern könnten. Diese Lösungen können unter anderem sein: neue Arten der pharmakologischen Behandlung, neuartige Verabreichungswege für Medikamente, medizinische Geräte und digitale Ansätze. Von besonderem Interesse ist der Bereich der Neuromodulation, ein expandierender Bereich der Schmerzmedizin, der eine Reihe von nicht-invasiven, minimal-invasiven und chirurgischen Elektrotherapien umfasst, sowie Lösungen, die auf einem multidisziplinären Ansatz beruhen, Lösungen, die auf eine individualisierte Behandlung abzielen, und Lösungen, die eine multidimensionale Diagnose bieten könnten.

Herausforderung #4

Novartis ist auf der Suche nach einer bewährten Lösung oder Plattform, die den integrierten Versorgungspfad (Screening & Diagnose / Identifizierung des Patienten, automatisierte Überweisung, Aktivierung der Behandlung und Nachsorge) einschließlich digitaler Gesundheitsinterventionen (z. B. Verhaltensänderung / psychosoziale Unterstützung / Adhärenz) unterstützen kann, um das Patientenergebnis (Lebensqualität, Morbidität/Mortalität, Produktivität) zu optimieren, die Krankheitslast zu verringern und die Nutzung vermeidbarer medizinischer Ressourcen zu minimieren.

Webinare

 

Interessierte Start-ups sind herzlich eingeladen, an unseren kommenden Webinaren teilzunehmen, die einen detaillierten Überblick über das Programm, den Zeitplan und das Bewerbungsverfahren geben.

Rückblick auf Startups Meet Pharma 2021: 5 Herausforderungen | 5 Partner | 18 start-ups

Im Jahr 2021 gingen wir eine Partnerschaft mit fünf Pharmaunternehmen ein: Abbott, Takeda, Merck, Amgen und AstraZeneca, um gemeinsam das Programm Start-ups Meet Pharma zu organisieren. Im Rahmen des Programms haben wir 18 Start-ups ausgewählt, die sich mit den Herausforderungen befassen, vor denen Pharmaunternehmen mit operativen Produkten und Dienstleistungen stehen. Im Jahr 2021 wurden im Rahmen des Programms 4 Zulassungsanträge unterzeichnet, 3 Pilotprojekte durchgeführt und 2 Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekte-entwickelt.

Rückblick auf Startups Meet Pharma 2020: 5 Herausforderungen | 4 Partner | 16 start-ups

Im Jahr 2020 wurden fünf Herausforderungen in Zusammenarbeit mit vier EIT-Gesundheitspartnern veröffentlicht: Amgen, Bayer, Beiersdorf und Boehringer Ingelheim. Im Laufe von sechs Monaten arbeiteten 16 Start-ups aus 15 verschiedenen Ländern intensiv mit unseren wichtigsten Pharmapartnern in Workshops, Schulungen und persönlichen Treffen zusammen. Die Ergebnisse: 3 unterzeichnete NDAs, 4 Piloten, die sich derzeit in der Planungsphase befinden und deren Start für Anfang 2021 vorgesehen ist, 2 Bewerbungen für das EIT Health-Investorennetzwerk und eine offene Einladung für ein weiteres Engagement.

Startups Meet Pharma 2019 | 5 Herausforderungen | 5 Partner | 14 start-ups

In der Ausgabe 2019 des Programms Startups Meet Pharma wurden Startups, die digitale Lösungen mit Auswirkungen auf die pharmazeutische Industrie und Patienten entwickeln, von Bayer, UCB, Johnson & Johnson, Amgen und Ferrer eingeladen, fünf Herausforderungen zu bewältigen. Erfahren Sie mehr über das Programm und lesen Sie mehr über die Erfahrungen von Pilloxa im SMP 2019 im interview mit dem Gründer und CEO, Francesco Mazzotta.

YouTube

By loading the video, you agree to YouTube’s privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Contact

Bojana Trajkovska

Entrepreneurship Lead
+49 163 92 61 073