News

Living Brain attracts venture capitalists and closes a 7-digit financing round

The EIT Health Catapult and Headstart Awards participant, Living Brain, closes a 7-digit financing round.

Current cognitive rehabilitation is conducted with pencil/paper, desktop or smartphone applications. All of these approaches are lacking in relation to everyday life and don’t fulfil the needs of complex cognitive rehabilitation, as science has proven. The use of training software in VR can close this gap, the interaction with real-life scenarios like a kitchen or a garden while being in a hospital is offering multiple benefits.

Living Brain digitizes cognitive rehabilitation with virtual reality, psychological learning paradigms and gamification. The training software can be used by more than 4 million patients with neurological diseases in Germany to retrain cognitive abilities like action planning or attention and is connected with monitoring software for physicians and therapists.

People affected by cognitive rehabilitation have to learn again to do everyday things on their own. Scenarios close to everyday life, such as a kitchen or a garden, are used by the team of Living Brain: In virtual reality, skills are trained in a playful way, such as planting vegetables or preparing a dish in a kitchen. In combination with psychological learning strategies, neuronal pathways can reconnect at an early stage. The team led by Barbara Stegmann, Till Ikemann and Julian Specht wants to enable those affected to carry out their training independently of time and place. Where pen and paper are still the common training medium today, Living Brain is breaking new ground – and thus enabling training that is intended to make it easier to return to everyday life.

Now the trio announced the closing of a seven-figure financing round. The sum was received via the private investor network Companisto, and within just a few weeks, more than over 600 private investors participated in Living Brain. In addition, the two investors Ina Schlie and Dorit Posdorf from the encourageventures network also participated.

 

“The new capital now enables us to invest further in the product in order to integrate it into care nationwide and sustainably, to make it available to practitioners and patients, and thus, to support even more people on their way back into their everyday lives. The further establishment of teora mind on the market and the development of effective and economical solutions for use in the healthcare market are now our top priorities. We are grateful for the trust of all investors and supporters who have been with us for a long time and we are proud to have new partners at our side who will support us in our further growth.” – says Barbara Stegmann, the CEO at Living Brain about the investment.

With the newly obtained capital, Living Brain primarily intends to further develop the product and continue its market penetration. “In the last few months, we have reached several milestones through certifications, clinical studies and first sales and have shown that we can make a difference for many patients with our product. We are also particularly grateful to our team, without whom we would not be able to do all this!”- says CSO Julian Specht.

Congratulations to the whole team!

News

Living Brain zieht Risikokapitalgeber an und schließt eine 7-stellige Finanzierungsrunde ab

Der EIT Health Catapult und Headstart Awards Teilnehmer Living Brain schließt eine 7-stellige Finanzierungsrunde ab.

Die derzeitige kognitive Rehabilitation wird mit Bleistift/Papier, Desktop- oder Smartphone-Anwendungen durchgeführt. All diese Ansätze haben zu wenig Bezug zum Alltag und erfüllen nicht die Anforderungen einer komplexen kognitiven Rehabilitation, wie die Wissenschaft bewiesen hat. Der Einsatz von VR-Trainingssoftware kann diese Lücke schließen. Die Interaktion mit realen Szenarien wie einer Küche oder einem Garten, während man sich in einem Krankenhaus befindet, bietet zahlreiche Vorteile.

Living Brain digitalisiert die kognitive Rehabilitation mit virtueller Realität, psychologischen Lernparadigmen und Gamification. Die Trainingssoftware kann von mehr als 4 Millionen Patienten mit neurologischen Erkrankungen in Deutschland genutzt werden, um kognitive Fähigkeiten wie Handlungsplanung oder Aufmerksamkeit zu trainieren und ist mit einer Monitoring-Software für Ärzte und Therapeuten verbunden.

Menschen, die von einer kognitiven Rehabilitation betroffen sind, müssen wieder lernen, alltägliche Dinge selbständig zu tun. Alltagsnahe Szenarien, wie eine Küche oder ein Garten, werden vom Team von Living Brain genutzt: In der virtuellen Realität werden spielerisch Fertigkeiten trainiert, wie das Anpflanzen von Gemüse oder die Zubereitung eines Gerichts in einer Küche. In Kombination mit psychologischen Lernstrategien können so frühzeitig neuronale Bahnen neu verknüpft werden. Das Team um Barbara Stegmann, Till Ikemann und Julian Specht will den Betroffenen ermöglichen, ihr Training unabhängig von Ort und Zeit durchzuführen. Wo heute noch Stift und Papier das gängige Trainingsmedium sind, beschreitet Living Brain neue Wege – und ermöglicht damit ein Training, das die Rückkehr in den Alltag erleichtern soll.

Jetzt gab das Trio den Abschluss einer Finanzierungsrunde in siebenstelliger Höhe bekannt. Die Summe ging über das Privatinvestoren-Netzwerk Companisto ein, innerhalb weniger Wochen beteiligten sich mehr als 600 Privatinvestoren an Living Brain. Darüber hinaus beteiligten sich auch die beiden Investorinnen Ina Schlie und Dorit Posdorf aus dem Netzwerk encourageventures.

 

„Das neue Kapital ermöglicht es uns nun, weiter in das Produkt zu investieren, um es flächendeckend und nachhaltig in die Versorgung zu integrieren, es Behandlern und Patienten zur Verfügung zu stellen und damit noch mehr Menschen auf ihrem Weg zurück in den Alltag zu unterstützen. Die weitere Etablierung von teora mind am Markt und die Entwicklung effektiver und wirtschaftlicher Lösungen für den Einsatz im Gesundheitsmarkt haben für uns jetzt oberste Priorität. Wir sind dankbar für das Vertrauen aller Investoren und Unterstützer, die uns seit langem begleiten, und wir sind stolz darauf, neue Partner an unserer Seite zu haben, die uns bei unserem weiteren Wachstum unterstützen werden.“ –sagt Barbara Stegmann, die Geschäftsführerin von Living Brain, über die Investition.

Mit dem neu gewonnenen Kapital will Living Brain vor allem das Produkt weiterentwickeln und die Marktdurchdringung vorantreiben. „In den letzten Monaten haben wir durch Zertifizierungen, klinische Studien und erste Verkäufe mehrere Meilensteine erreicht und gezeigt, dass wir mit unserem Produkt für viele Patienten einen Unterschied machen können. Besonders dankbar sind wir auch unserem Team, ohne das wir das alles nicht schaffen würden“, sagt CSO Julian Specht.

Herzlichen Glückwunsch an das gesamte Team!