News

Higher Education Initiative call results: 23 projects selected by the EIT

23 projects involving 135 HEIs and 140 non-academic organisations from 32 countries will benefit from the first call with funding of up to EUR 27.5 million.

In March 2021 the European Institute of Innovation and Technology (EIT) launched the HEI Initiative: Innovation Capacity Building for Higher Education − a new initiative to unlock the full innovation potential of higher education institutions’ (HEIs) by increasing their entrepreneurial and innovation capacity whilst integrating them into Europe’s largest innovation ecosystem. The first activity was a pilot call for proposals inviting European higher education institutions to design institution-wide action plans that will improve their entrepreneurial and innovation capacity across all institutional levels.

The pilot call was a huge success. 64 consortia representing nearly 750 organisations from across Europe applied to the pilot call that closed in May 2021. As a result, 23 projects involving 135 HEIs and 140 non-academic organisations (companies, research centres, public authorities and associations) from 32 countries will benefit from this first call with funding of up to EUR 27.5 million available. Organisations involved in the selected projects include the Medical University of Plovdiv (BG), University of Pardubice (CZ), Robert Bosch GmbH (DE), Foundation Startup Wise Guys (EE), Universidad de Zaragoza (ES), University of Eastern Finland (FI), Athens University of Economics and Business (GR), University College Dublin (IE) and Confindustria Trento (IT). More details on the selected projects can be found here.

Three of the selected projects are led by EIT Health partners:

  • Inno4YUFE – EIT Health Belgium-Netherlands
  • TRUE – EIT Health Spain
  • i2i – EIT Health Ireland-UK

Also included in the list of selected projects were a number of partners from our Innostars region. INVENTHEI is led by the University of Porto, Łukasiewicz Centre are participating in ETEIA and Kaunas University of Technology (EIT Health Hub in Lithuania) are part of the BOOGIE-U project.

Speaking about the initiative, Mariya Gabriel, European Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth said: ‘Universities have a critical role to play in the development and growth of local and regional innovation ecosystems. This new initiative will help them boost their entrepreneurial capabilities at all levels and unlock their innovation potential. I congratulate the selected consortia for putting bold and promising ideas on the table, and now it’s time to step into action and make them a reality!’ 

What’s next

The pilot projects implemented in Phase 1 in 2021 will incorporate evaluation, learning and improvements before
entering Phase 2 in 2022 and 2023, and scaling up their activities. Upon successful completion of Phase 1, further funding will be released to projects to complete Phase 2. A second call for proposals for the EIT’s HEI Initiative will be launched in late 2021 for projects that will start in 2022. The initiative aims to reach 550 higher education institutions by 2027 to boost European innovation in higher education and support the twin transition towards a more sustainable, digital and competitive Europe.

News

Die Resultate des Aufrufs zur „Higher Education Initiative“ sind da: 23 Projekte vom EIT ausgewählt

135 HEIs und 140 nicht-akademische Organisationen aus 32 Ländern sind involviert. Die 23 Projekte erhalten bis zu 27,5 Millionen Euro.

 

Im März 2021 startete das European Institute of Innovation and Technology (EIT) die HEI-Initiative: Innovation Capacity Building for Higher Education – eine neue Initiative zur Erschließung des vollen Innovationspotenzials der Hochschulen (HEI) durch die Steigerung ihrer unternehmerischen und Innovationsfähigkeit, die sie gleichzeitig in Europas größtes Innovationsökosystem einbindet. Die erste Aktivität war ein Pilotaufruf zur Einreichung von Anträgen. Europäische Hochschuleinrichtungen entwarfen institutionsweite Aktionspläne, die ihre unternehmerische und innovativen Möglichkeiten auf allen institutionellen Ebenen verbessern sollen.

Der Pilotaufruf, der im Mai 2021 abgeschlossen wurde, war ein großer Erfolg: 64 Konsortien, die fast 750 Organisationen aus ganz Europa vertreten, haben sich beworben. Als Ergebnis profitieren 23 Projekte mit 135 Hochschulen und 140 nicht-akademischen Organisationen (Unternehmen, Forschungszentren, Behörden und Verbände) aus 32 Ländern von Fördermitteln von bis zu 27,5 Mio. EUR. An den ausgewählten Projekten sind unter anderem die Medizinische Universität Plovdiv (BG), die Universität Pardubice (CZ), die Robert Bosch GmbH (DE), die Foundation Startup Wise Guys (EE), die Universidad de Zaragoza (ES), die University of Eastern Finland ( FI), Wirtschaftsuniversität Athen (GR), University College Dublin (IE) und Confindustria Trento (IT) beteiligt.

Weitere Details zu den ausgewählten Projekten finden Sie hier.

 

Drei der ausgewählten Projekte werden geleitet durch Partner von EIT Health:

  • Inno4YUFE – EIT Health Belgium-Netherlands
  • TRUE – EIT Health Spain
  • i2i – EIT Health Ireland-UK

Ebenfalls in die Liste der ausgewählten Projekte aufgenommen wurden eine Reihe von Partnern aus unserer Innostars-Region.  INVENTHEI wird von der Universität Porto geleitet, das Łukasiewicz Center nimmt an ETEIA teil und die Technische Universität Kaunas (EIT Health Hub in Litauen) ist Teil des BOOGIE-U-Projekts.

Mariya Gabriel, EU-Kommissarin für Innovation, Forschung, Kultur, Bildung und Jugend, sagte über die Initiative: „Universitäten spielen eine entscheidende Rolle bei der Entwicklung und dem Wachstum lokaler und regionaler Innovationsökosysteme. Diese neue Initiative wird ihnen helfen, ihre unternehmerischen Fähigkeiten auf allen Ebenen zu stärken und ihr Innovationspotenzial zu erschließen. Ich gratuliere den ausgewählten Konsortien, dass sie mutige und vielversprechende Ideen auf den Tisch gebracht haben, und jetzt ist es an der Zeit, in die Tat umzusetzen und sie zu verwirklichen!“

Was kommt als nächstes

Die Pilotprojekte, die 2021 in Phase 1 umgesetzt werden, durchlaufen Evaluierungen und werden entsprechend angeglichen, ehe sie 2022 und 2023 in Phase 2 eintreten und ihre Aktivitäten ausweiten. Nach erfolgreichem Abschluss von Phase 1 werden weitere Mittel für Projekte freigegeben, um Phase 2 abzuschließen. Ein zweiter Aufruf zur Einreichung von Vorschlägen für die HEI Initiative des EIT wird Ende 2021 für Projekte veröffentlicht, die 2022 beginnen. Die Initiative zielt darauf ab, bis 2027 550 Bildungseinrichtungen zu erreichen, um die europäische Innovation in der Hochschulbildung zu fördern. Damit wird der doppelte Übergang zu einem nachhaltigeren, digitalen und wettbewerbsfähigeren Europa unterstützt.