EIT Health MACH Project wins Horizon Impact Award 2020

EIT Health Innovation Project “Mobile Autonomy for Children in end-stage Heart failure” is winner of the 2020 edition of Horizon Impact Award – a prize dedicated to EU-funded projects whose results have created societal impact across Europe and beyond.

The European Commission announced today the winners of the 2020 Horizon Impact Award and we are thrilled that EIT Health Innovation Project “Mobile Autonomy for Children in end-stage Heart failure” is one of the winners. The Horizon Impact Award is the European Commission’s initiative to recognize and celebrate outstanding projects that have used their results to provide value for society. The prize acknowledges and rewards the most influential and impactful project results under Horizon 2020, the EU research and innovation programme, with €10,000 each.

The MACH project was an international cooperation between RWTH Aachen University and Uniklinik RWTH Aachen, Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, Newcastle University and Berlin Heart GmbH to develop and launch a mobile driving unit for the EXCOR® ventricular assist device, to bridge the waiting time for a new heart.

Given the high number of children and adults awaiting a heart transplant, the EXCOR® ventricular assist device can reduce the stress impact of long term hospitalization on children on the waiting list and their families, by offering them mobility and autonomy in their daily lives in the hospital environment. The new driving unit EXCOR® Active is approximately knee-high and maneuverable by the child itself. Since attaining CE Mark last year, the “EXCOR Active” has supported the first patients in Germany.

The €10.000 prize money from the award will be donated to projects such as a facility that supports families staying near their hospitalised children in Munich and key initiatives with long-term benefit to patients at Freeman Hospital, Newcastle.

If you would like to learn more about the project, please read the interview with Prof. Dr. Carina Benstöm.

For more information regarding the award please see: